The Hindsight Notes: Rules

3 Jun

 

The Hindsight Notes is a recurring section created for all you readers wanting to participate in THL, but lacking time to write a full letter. Each Note is composed of a question. All you need to do is answer it, in the form of a comment (below).

This weeks topic is: Rules.

Every house has them. Every teenager hates them. This week, we want to hear all about the Rules of your house that drove you the craziest. Did you have a sucky curfew? A miles-long list of chores? A no-dating-until-you’re-35 rule? What was it about that rule that drove you nuts? As an adult, do you now understand your parents’ motivation behind said rule?

As always, I’ll start us out:

__________________

If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one!

5 Responses to “The Hindsight Notes: Rules”

  1. Kyra Evans-Schultz June 3, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

    My parents had a lot of rules, particularly early in my adolescence. Most of these rules made me crazy, regardless of how logical they might have been.

    I think the one rule that I hated the most was the “no sleeping over at boys’ houses” rule. Ha! Isn’t that funny? It makes me laugh now thinking about how unfair I thought that was. As an adult, and now as a parent, that seems like a perfectly reasonable rule to have with your teenaged daughter. I’m having a mild panic attack right now thinking about my daughter sleeping over at ANYONE’S house, let alone a boy’s house. Jeez.

    But, at the time, when people were going to a party and then crashing there, or when I was madly in love with my first boyfriend and wanting to sleep over at his house, it made me CRAZY that I was, like, the only girl not allowed to stay over at boy’s houses. Let’s be honest here: I wanted to stay over at my boyfriend’s house because his house had no rules and his Mom didn’t care if we stayed in the same room. I wanted to sleep at the party house so that I could drink too much and not get caught when I returned home. These are the EXACT reasons that my parents didn’t want me sleeping there. And, even though part of me still hates to admit it, it’s a rule that makes complete sense.

  2. Anna Walker June 3, 2011 at 5:45 pm #

    My parents had many, many ridiculous rules that even now make no sense whatsoever. It turns out, according to several therapists, my parents were insane. And emotionally abusive. The end.

    • Kyra Evans-Schultz June 3, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

      Well, at least you know which rules NOT to make with your own family 🙂

  3. Kristen Smith June 5, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

    This is a great topic…because I had lots and Lots and LOTS of rules at my house. Biggest that I can now remember was a rediculously early curfew…10pm when I was like 15. It was still light out when I came home from my first date! No sleeping at a boys house was understood. I was barely aloud to drive, let alone drive with my friends even when I had a license. My father didn’t even want me to move out of the dorms and into an apartment during my senior year of COLLEGE! I did win that one, but it wasn’t pretty. Then, as I progressed into semi-adulthood, I still dealt with a worried mother and an unhappy father as I started taking trips by myself, driving long distances, and doing basic things alone. Some of it seems logical now…Kyra…I’m right there with you on fearing the thought of any sleepovers, and I certainly can’t ever imagine letting either one of my two daughters drive A CAR! But, sometimes I guess you just have to learn to let go and hope you have given your children all the best advice you could that they will (maybe) listen to!

    • Kyra Evans-Schultz June 5, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

      Kristen, how are we EVER going to deal with sleepovers??? We will be on the phone with each other having joint panic attacks. 10pm curfew is brutal! Here’s hoping we can navigate our way through the minefield of rules and try to create ones that make sense for all parties involved 🙂

Leave a Reply

