“Dear Adult Me” Summer Series Guest Submissions

25 May

Up to this point, The Hindsight Letters has brought readers weekly Letters of advice written by Adult writers to their Teenaged selves. This summer, I’ll be flipping that concept around for a limited run Summer Series that will share Letters of advice written by Teenaged writers to their Adult selves.

I’m currently welcoming Letters from writers between the ages of 11 and 20 addressed to their Adult selves. Share some of the things you dread about becoming an adult (Jobs, Marriage, Families, Bills). Share some of the things you’re excited about (Independence, First Apartments, Finishing School). Discuss lessons you hope you will have learned by then. Give advice about qualities you hope you won’t lose. This is really a no-rules/all-fun kind of project. Just let your creativity roll with it.

The Hindsight Letters has readers spanning many different age groups. My hope is that this Summer Series will highlight the talent of our adolescent readers and allow them to share their stories in a completely different light.

If you’re a teenaged HL reader, or if you know anyone that might be interested in contributing, please feel free to send me an email at kyra@thehindsightletters.com or just submit your Letter on the About The Site page, preferably before June 15th. No matter what your story, skill set or background, I would love to read your Letter!

Take care, and happy writing!

Kyra

18 Responses to ““Dear Adult Me” Summer Series Guest Submissions”

  1. xXspidergirlXx May 28, 2011 at 10:39 am #

    Hahahaha great idea, I’ll definitely try and make time to write a letter =D Hopefully, I’ll find it when I’m all grown up… I wonder what I’m going to think?

    • Kyra Evans-Schultz May 28, 2011 at 8:44 pm #

      Yes, please do write a Letter! I would love to feature your work in the series since I know you are a loyal reader 🙂

      • xXspidergirlXx May 29, 2011 at 10:32 am #

        How should I send you the letter? I would prefer to keep my email address private, so I might just post in the comments or something.

      • Kyra Evans-Schultz May 30, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

        However you’d like to submit it would be great! Obviously if you sent it to me in an email I would keep your address private when I post the Letter (and you wouldn’t be included on a mailing list or anything). Totally up to you. Or post it as a comment on this Post. I’m really looking forward to reading your letter!

  2. pen2sword May 31, 2011 at 7:18 pm #

    awesome idea! I’ve been reading (and greatly enjoying) these letters for some time now, and was pretty bummed that I couldn’t write one. Except now I can! 😀

    • Kyra Evans-Schultz May 31, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

      That would be great! I would absolutely love to read a Letter from you. Send it on over! Thanks for participating- looking forward to reading your Letter 🙂

      • xXspidergirlXx June 4, 2011 at 11:32 am #

        Is there any particular time frame in which I need to submit this? I’m kind of having trouble getting my words together… blame the holiday homework. I mean, who the hell sets homework over the holidays? That’s why it’s called the holidays!!! There should be some sort of Satanic cult against this idiocy.
        Sorry, off topic. But I am working on it.

      • Kyra Evans-Schultz June 4, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

        Holiday homework? That’s crazy! I’d like the Letters in by June 24th at the latest. I’m also willing to help edit if you preferred to send over a rough copy for me to work with you on. I hope the timeline works out for you!

      • xXspidergirlXx June 5, 2011 at 9:45 am #

        I should be able to finish in time, thanks. 24th June is my birthday!!! =D

      • Kyra Evans-Schultz June 5, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

        Well, Happy Birthday! I’m excited to read your Letter 🙂

      • xXspidergirlXx June 5, 2011 at 9:46 am #

        And we’re back to school again for 6 weeks now, then finally the summer holidays!!! lol

  3. classbookworm June 5, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

    I have a few that my students wrote. I’ll try to email you those by next week? Going out of town for a few days.

    • Kyra Evans-Schultz June 5, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

      That would be GREAT! I can’t wait to read them! Thanks again so much, I really appreciate it 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I Am An Onion a.k.a A Letter To Grown-Up Me | TheCobwebOfTheWorld - August 9, 2011

    […] This post on http://thehindsightletters.com/ peaked my interest. Having already submitted a rather straightforward letter to grown-up me, I was suddenly struck by the thought that I don’t fully know who I am, so who will I be? I hadn’t said everything that I wanted to in my letter… So here’s another letter from me to you… who is also me. Does this make me a narcissist? […]

Leave a Reply

