The Hindsight Notes: Teenaged Favourite Book

20 May

The Hindsight Notes is a recurring section created for all you readers wanting to participate in THL, but lacking time to write a full letter. Each Note is composed of a question. All you need to do is answer it, in the form of a comment (below).

This week’s topic is: Your favourite book as a teenager.

It never ceases to amaze me how certain books can speak so specifically to a certain period of time in your life. There have been times where I have loved a book so much when I read it, but going back to re-read it years later I’m puzzled by what I enjoyed about it.

And so, this week, we want to hear all about your favourite book as a teenager. Why did you like it? How did you discover it? What part of the story spoke to you? Do you still like the book now?

As always, I’ll start us out:

_____________________

If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one!


7 Responses to “The Hindsight Notes: Teenaged Favourite Book”

  1. Kyra Evans-Schultz May 20, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

    I had a few favourite books as a teenager, but I’d have to say that the book that I claimed was my favourite at the time was George Orwell’s 1984.

    I don’t think that I liked it because of his writing style, or because I liked the characters. I don’t think it was a book that made me feel very good in any way. Mostly, I liked saying that my favourite book was 1984. I liked telling people about it. I liked the statement that made. I liked pretending that I was a badass and that my political beliefs involved the phrase “Damn The Man”. I liked to draw parallels between my teachers or parents and Big Brother. It gave me a thrill to pretend that I was anything other than the sweet, naive suburbanite that I was 🙂

    It’s funny, because in the present day I actually have no desire to re-read 1984. I know it’s a classic and all. But I just don’t feel like it speaks to me in the same way that it did back then. What can I say?

  2. Anna Walker May 20, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

    I was slightly obsessed with The Lord Of The Rings. Slightly…

    • Kyra Evans-Schultz May 22, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

      I seem to remember you referencing this in another Note… Are you sure you really want to use the word “slightly”? 😉

  3. magnolia May 20, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

    the stand, stephen king. i read it for the first time in ninth grade during a hurricane, and i was hooked. i’ve read both the original and the uncut version about 20 times each, and i loveitloveitloveit.

    • Kyra Evans-Schultz May 22, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

      It stood the test of time! (Ha ha, bad pun). Interesting that it’s carried you through the years and can still hold your attention 🙂

  4. classbookworm May 20, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

    In middle school, Silver by Norma Fox Mazer. The circle of friends in the book were close-knit and I thought they were similar to my group. Lois Duncan’s Locked in Time (and most of Duncan’s stuff, actually) had me re-reading a ton.
    When I was in high school, I didn’t read much outside of English class (horrifying, right?) but I loved To Kill a Mockingbird.

    • Kyra Evans-Schultz May 22, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

      To Kill a Mockingbird! Such a classic. My daughter has a little friend named Harper and I always think about Harper Lee whenever we see her 🙂 Such a good book!

Leave a Reply

