The Hindsight Notes: Detention!

13 May

The Hindsight Notes is a recurring section created for all you readers wanting to participate in THL, but lacking time to write a full letter. Each Note is composed of a question. All you need to do is answer it, in the form of a comment (below).

This week’s topic is: Detention!

Maybe you were mouthing off. Maybe you were passing notes. Maybe you were giving the teacher some major ‘tude. We’ve almost all been there. Detention. Being forced to stay in school longer than you have to. Torturous. And though “The Breakfast Club” might have made it look glamourous, the reality was anything but.

So, tell us all about it! What did you do to warrant a detention? Did you deserve it? Who was the teacher? How long was the detention? If you never had to stay for detention, how did you manage to avoid it? (Ahem. Goody Two Shoes. Ahem.)

As always, I’ll start us out:

If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one!

7 Responses to “The Hindsight Notes: Detention!”

  1. Kyra Evans-Schultz May 13, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

    Okay, so I must admit, I was lucky. I don’t have too many detention stories to share.

    The most memorable one was in Grade 8. At that point, I was the major pariah in my class. The mean girls were going full throttle trying to make my life a living hell. On this particular day, our math class had a substitute teacher. But not just any sub. It was the super tough, super masculine, super scary gym teacher, Mrs. McDonald. She was a real battle axe. She wasn’t my gym teacher though, I had just heard about her reputation.

    Because she wasn’t my gym teacher, she didn’t know what a good student I was. She didn’t know how quiet I was during class, that I always did my homework and that I put my hand up and answered questions whenever I could. Because of this, when she saw me opening a note and turning to a girl behind me to say something during a lesson, she didn’t give me the benefit of the doubt. She assumed I was a trouble maker and sentenced me to AN HOUR of detention after school. Complete silence. Florescent light. Math equations. In other words, hell.

    What she didn’t realize was that the note I was opening was passed to me from three of the mean girls who had been writing terrible things about me on a piece of paper and wanted to make sure I knew how much they hated me. I had turned around to try to retaliate, and BAM! Mean girls = 1, Kyra = 0. Boo-urns.

  2. Anna Walker May 14, 2011 at 8:50 am #

    I got detention all the time for skipping class, and talking in class, and stuff like that, but I honestly didn’t care. I mean, I was just going to go home and sit in my room and do my homework, so it didn’t bother me to have to stay at school and sit quietly in a room and do my homework. Actually, I kinda liked it.

    • Kyra Evans-Schultz May 15, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

      That’s too funny… Perhaps you were subconsciously acting up in order to stay at school longer 🙂

  3. magnolia May 14, 2011 at 10:38 am #

    so get this: i never, once, in my entire academic career, got a detention. ever. not that i didn’t deserve one. i cut one class in 12th grade on such a regular basis that the teacher didn’t even bother. i was a walking uniform violation – skirt too short, wrong shoes, the whole nine. i was disrespectful, i sassed everyone, etc.

    but i got straight As and scored REALLY high on standardized tests. in my schools, especially middle and high school, that overrode everything. 🙂

  4. classbookworm May 15, 2011 at 5:37 pm #

    I know I got out of detention for passing notes because the class clown caught me. Mrs. Poindexter HATED him. He made a scene, and that was worse than my offense. I was a stupid sixth grader and said “phew that was close!” before I got out the door. She made sure I knew next time I would not get off so easily. I did get detention in her class though for not doing homework, I think. But yeah. I was a total goody-two-shoes, and I can’t remember other detentions.

    • Kyra Evans-Schultz May 15, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

      Ah yes, the audible sigh of relief is not so beneficial in a case like that one 🙂

Leave a Reply

