The Hindsight Notes: Celebrity Crush

6 May

The Hindsight Notes is a recurring section created for all you readers wanting to participate in THL, but lacking time to write a full letter. Each Note is composed of a question. All you need to do is answer it, in the form of a comment (below).

This week’s topic is: Your Teenaged Celebrity Crush.

Justin Bieber and The Jonas Brothers ain’t got nothin’ on these heartthrobs. This week, we want to hear all about your teenaged celebrity crush. Who was it? Why did you like them? Did you have any paraphernalia of your crush? Did you ever meet them, send them a letter or make contact in any way?

As always, I’ll start us out:

_________________________

If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one!

10 Responses to “The Hindsight Notes: Celebrity Crush”

  1. Kyra Evans-Schultz May 6, 2011 at 9:35 pm #

    I had a few celebrity crushes as a teenager. Most of them unlikely candidates. I’m going to have to say that my most “teen idol” celebrity crush was Daniel Johns from Silverchair.

    Sometime between grades 8 and 9 I developed a thing for the album Frogstomp. I listened to it over and over and over again and thought that Daniel Johns, with his long, shaggy blonde locks and blue eyes, was the dreamiest of all grungy teen singers. At the time, I didn’t realize that Silverchair was kind of like the Spice Girls of the grunge era. I thought they were pretty deep, and that they perfectly exemplified the kind of angst I was feeling in my cushy suburban life.

    I loved him so much that I kept a heart shaped framed photo of him on my night stand next to my bed. Really. I’m not even kidding.

  2. magnolia May 7, 2011 at 5:38 am #

    oh my lord. seriously? i thought i was the only one who was just RADICALLY in love with daniel johns! i was just listening to “pure massacre” getting ready for the exam i’m taking in a couple of hours. that makes my LIFE.

    i also had a deep, ridiculous crush on paul rudd, circa “clueless.” that one hasn’t gone away, either. they filmed that paul rudd/reese witherspoon/owen wilson movie in DC, in my dad’s neighborhood, and my boyfriend kept joking that he’d have to keep me away to avoid having to beat paul rudd up over me. 🙂

    • Kyra Evans-Schultz May 7, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

      Ha! I love it!! Did you know that Daniel Johns used to be married to Natalie Imbruglia? I also used to love that radio hit “torn” at the time 🙂

      I’m totally into the Paul Rudd crush. He is HILARIOUS!

  3. Lauren May 7, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    Heehee, I remember your Daniel Johns phase so well!! “Sexy Rexy!!” And a little silver chair necklace too, I think.
    My main teen crush was on Seth Green. I loved that he was a little off-beat, on Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and really pale (as am I). I had a little shrine of cut-out magazine pictures taped above my bed for a while, and friends would sometimes donate clippings to add to my collection.
    FYI, My CURRENT celeb crush is Paul Rudd! Love that guy, so cute!

    • Kyra Evans-Schultz May 8, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

      Lauren, I had totally forgotten about my silver chair necklace! That PROVES what a fan I was 🙂 I had no idea about your Seth Green obsession! But, he is quite the stud after all 😉 Who could blame you?

  4. classbookworm May 7, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    This is AMAZING, because I was trying to rack my brain for my crushes when I saw this topic in my email; I also thought of Silverchair! My BFF claimed Daniel, so I was like, “fine, you can have him, I’ll take Chris” (or was it Ben?) “they’re all cute.” 😉 Also, we went to a Silverchair concert in 98,she tossed her bra on stage, and Ben came out wearing the bra. Awesome. So that was 8/9 grade. By twelfth grade I became an optimist, and Lifehouse was the new band that really “got me”. Jason Wade, HOT! I still love them.

    However… Ewan McGregor wiped any memory of any other celebrity crush out of my mind until this note. *Swoon!*

    • classbookworm May 7, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

      I take that back. I do like Joseph Gordon-Levitt. I recently saw Inception, and I loved Ten Things I Hate About You in high school. Also, agree on Paul Rudd. Who WOULDN’T have a crush on him?

      • Kyra Evans-Schultz May 8, 2011 at 3:23 pm #

        Oh my goodness, where do I begin??? I love the Silverchair thing. What a classic teenaged moment “This guy’s taken, so I guess I’ll take that other dude.” Amazing! Bra tossing, so good. Ten things I hate about you!!!!! I saw that movie in the theatre with my high school boyfriend! Major blast from the past.

  5. Anna Walker May 8, 2011 at 6:52 am #

    Here’s where I reveal how nerdy I truly am.

    Ahem.

    I had a huge crush on Orlando Bloom because he was Legolas in the Lord of the Rings movies. Yes. My room was wallpapered in pictures of him I printed off the internet. I’m sure I drove my parents crazy.

    • Kyra Evans-Schultz May 8, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

      That’s awesome! I love any and all signs of nerdiness. Go with it.

Leave a Reply

