The Hindsight Notes: Parental Beef

22 Apr

The Hindsight Notes is a recurring section created for all you readers wanting to participate in THL, but lacking time to write a full letter. Each Note is composed of a question. All you need to do is answer it, in the form of a comment (below).

This week’s topic is: As a teenager, what was your parents’ biggest complaint about you? 

Let’s be honest here: We all drove our parents a little crazy during our adolescence. Most of the time, we were probably little cranky pants or bossy boots with a big time ‘tude. Blame it on hormones if you wish, but our parents were the ones that most often had to suffer the wrath of our mood swings and temper tantrums.

So, what would you say was your parents’ biggest beef about you as a teenager? Were you constantly late? Did you have a potty mouth? Never did your homework?

As always, I’ll start us out:

If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one!

3 Responses to “The Hindsight Notes: Parental Beef”

  1. Kyra Evans-Schultz April 22, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

    As a teenager, I think my parents’ biggest complaint about me was my laziness. I was definitely guilty of some big time sloth. I didn’t do laundry. I rarely cleaned my room. Dishes? Not a chance. I had to be forced into getting a part-time job. I would have been content to sit around and do nothing while my parents threw money at me. That would have been living the dream.

    Generally speaking, I was pretty good about abiding by the other rules. I was home in time for curfew. I didn’t sneak out. I did my homework religiously and got straight A’s. I was pretty cranky sometimes, but tried my darndest to be respectful even during my tantrums.

    But I was definitely big-time L-A-Z-Y.

  2. Anna Walker April 23, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

    GAH. I was, I kid you not, the PERFECT child. And my parents didn’t realize it until my littler siblings turned into teenagers (read: holy terrors). So, not realizing it, they were onto me about everything, stupid stuff, and always accusing me of things I wouldn’t have dreamt of doing. It’s like they wanted me to be bad so they could punish me. My childhood was…complicated.

    • Kyra Evans-Schultz April 24, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

      Ha! I feel exactly the same way. I think back about some of the things my parents got upset about with me, and they were so silly! I think it must be the shock of having a teenager for the first time that sends the parentals into a tail spin. Here’s hoping I can avoid the meltdown when my daughter turns 13 🙂

Leave a Reply

