The Hindsight Notes: Teenaged Bedroom

15 Apr

The Hindsight Notes is a recurring section created for all you readers wanting to participate in THL, but lacking time to write a full letter. Each Note is composed of a question. All you need to do is answer it, in the form of a comment (below).

This weeks topic is: Your Teenaged Bedroom.

As a teenager you sometimes feel so close to adulthood that you can almost taste it. And your bedroom is your space to flex your independence muscles. Decorate it the way you like. Shut the door and be alone. Listen to your music as loud as you can. And then you hear your Mother yell from down the hallway “Clean your room!!” and you’re reminded that, unfortunately, you’re still a kid.

This week, we want to hear all about your teenaged room. What did it look like? What colour were the walls? Were they covered in posters? Was there clothing strewn everywhere or was it spic and span? Was it anything like your current interior design taste, or does it make your adult self cringe?

As always, I’ll start us out:

__________________

If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one!

5 Responses to “The Hindsight Notes: Teenaged Bedroom”

  1. Kyra Evans-Schultz April 15, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

    In my teenaged room, it was all about compromise. My Mother wanted me to have a space all to myself, that reflected my personality. But I wasn’t allowed to put up posters unless neatly framed and I had to clear the paint colour with her.

    When I was around 16 my room underwent a complete and total change. My Mother painstakingly took down my childhood wallpaper with the blue ribbons and painted a pale yellow shade. She sewed me a leopard print bedspread. I hung fake vines and flowers around the posts of my bed. I was big into the whole 1950’s pinup thing at the time, so I put up (framed) prints of Bettie Page, Marilyn Monroe and Rosie the Riveter. I asked my Dad to refurbish his old record player so that I could listen to his original ska albums on vinyl. Last but not least, the room was topped off with a zebra inspired area rug over the hardwood.

    At the time, I thought this makeover kicked ass. I loved it. I remember thinking that as soon as I moved into my own place I would just duplicate the style. It makes me laugh now because my design taste now is very, very minimal and contemporary and so completely opposite from what I liked as a teenager. Although every once in a while I do miss that Leopard bed spread…

  2. magnolia April 15, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    i had the same room from age 10 to age 17. when i was 10, my mother decorated the room while i was at my grandparents’ house for the summer. i came back to… pink. oh lord, pink. pink walls, pink floral bedspread, the whole damn nine yards. ick. i NEVER liked that color.

    so the summer i turned 15, daddy gave me creative control. do whatever you want to your room, with the only rule being if you want it, you have to do it yourself. away went the pink, replaced with caribbean blue. no more flowers; blue and green stripes. no more stuffed-animal pet nets in the corner; i built a corner unit for my stereo and a desk made out of an old door and some of those cheap metal filing cabinets. it was pretty awesome.

    i didn’t really have a room of my own, totally my own, until i got divorced and got my own place again.

    • Kyra Evans-Schultz April 16, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

      So many good points! First being the early-teenagerhood-Mom-made-me-do-it Room, and then secondly the adult “is it really MY bedroom” question. Amazing how the blending of tastes/existing furniture in a marriage can make it feel less YOUR OWN space.

  3. Anna Walker April 16, 2011 at 7:42 am #

    I had to share a room with my little sister. I was clean, she was messy. There was a line down the middle of the room where her stuff ended and my organization began. We had light blue paint and matching green and purple and blue bedspreads, and purple sheets, and blue candles all over our crappy furniture.

    • Kyra Evans-Schultz April 16, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

      Oh, the candles. What is it with adolescence and candles? I had, like, a million candles all over my teenaged bedroom and I remember my Mom being super freaked out at the potential fire hazard (and probably justifiably so!).

Leave a Reply

