The Hindsight Notes: Sneaking Out

8 Apr

The Hindsight Notes is a recurring section created for all you readers wanting to participate in THL, but lacking time to write a full letter. Each Note is composed of a question. All you need to do is answer it, in the form of a comment (below).

This week’s topic is: Sneaking Out.

It’s kind of synonymous with adolescence. The visual of the teenager opening her bedroom window and shimmying down the latticework into her boyfriend’s car.

Did you ever sneak out? Where did you go? Did you get caught? This week, we want to hear all about it.

As always, I’ll start us out:

_____________________

If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one!

 

5 Responses to “The Hindsight Notes: Sneaking Out”

  1. thehindsightletters April 8, 2011 at 7:50 am #

    Okay, so I have a confession to make: I never snuck out.

    Really.

    I know, crazy, right? But I was always too much of a good girl. I was so much of a good girl that my thought was, “What if something happened to me and my parents didn’t know where I was?”. Truly. That was my thinking.

    When I was a teenager, the rave scene was HUGE. All my friends were going to raves that started at 1 am and went until 6 am. There was NO WAY my parents were letting me go. No way. If I wanted to join my friends, I would have had to sneak out. But no matter how badly I wanted to dance the early morning away, I could never bring myself to do it. I know. I’m so super lame.

    • Anna Walker April 8, 2011 at 9:10 am #

      I never did, either! My reasons were different, though; mostly I just knew my mother would murder me in cold blood when she found out. And she ALWAYS found out.

      • Kyra Evans-Schultz April 10, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

        Totally. That was my other reason. I’m a TERRIBLE liar. There was no way my Mom wouldn’t have known.

  2. magnolia April 8, 2011 at 10:46 am #

    i never had to sneak out. we had a built-in alibi in one of my friends. a) her parents let us hang out at her house as late as we wanted. b) she was always willing to cover for me when i wasn’t going over there. she’d answer the phone, tell my dad i was in the restroom, then call me (we both had phones) so that i could call daddy back. done and done.

Leave a Reply

