Hindsight Fashion: The Twine Necklace

6 Apr

Throughout the decades, teenagers have attempted to prove their coolness by wearing questionable accessories, hairstyles and items of clothing. Hindsight Fashion is a section about those trends that, in Hindsight, we probably wish we hadn’t worn.

This week’s Hindsight Fashion is: The Twine Necklace.

The Twine Necklace (also referred to as the Hemp Necklace or Rope Necklace) was a fashion borne out of the surf. Though people have been weaving various twine-like textiles into jewelry for thousands of years, the Twine Necklace really came into its own in the mid to late 1990’s. The technique utilized any rope-like material braided and knotted together and most often suspended beads periodically throughout the necklace.

My first introduction to the world of Twine Necklaces came in the form of Summer Camp. At 13 years old I entered into my second year at a Sports Summer Camp in Muskoka, Ontario. This is humourous because I am probably the least coordinated or athletic person I know. The camp offered intense training in gymnastics, basketball, tennis, skateboarding, waterskiing, sailing and several other sports that I did not care about. I majored in Arts and Crafts. Upon entering my Arts and Crafts class, I was struck by the fact that everyone wore the same type of Twine Necklace. My mission was clear. I set to work weaving as many Twine Necklaces as my little teenaged neck could support.

Homemade Twine Necklaces were almost always tied onto your neck without the use of a clasp. The trouble with this was twofold: First, depending on the material used, they could be very itchy. So, in addition to your Summer Camp mosquito bites, you would be tugging at your itchy Twine Necklace all the time, unable to remove it without cutting the masterpiece that you had so carefully crafted. Secondly, since wearing your Twine Necklace all the time meant wearing it in the shower, swimming, and in the sun, after a few weeks they would begin to take on a faint mildew smell that had incredible wafting powers. Not the best way to attract your Summer Crush.

As such, Twine Necklaces had an expiry date that most often corresponded with the end of Summer. Though I have sadly had to retire mine, the Twine Necklace will always hold a very special place in my heart and remind me of a more simple time. A time when, armed with a spool of rope and some beads, I wove my way to a chic and mildewy fashion statement.

______________

If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one!

 

5 Responses to “Hindsight Fashion: The Twine Necklace”

  1. Anna Walker April 7, 2011 at 9:35 am #

    Oh, oh, oh, I LOVED these! I made them all the time! My bestie also made big hemp belts for herself, and I put my yarn-cutting pendant on one…ah, memories.

  2. nerissa April 19, 2011 at 12:23 am #

    I LOVED these! I made them all the time!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. » Hindsight Fashion: The Twine Necklace « The Hindsight Letters necklace|earrings|bracelets|flower necklace|pendant|jelly bracelets:Jewelry Online - April 6, 2011

    […] this article: Hindsight Fashion: The Twine Necklace « The Hindsight Letters « Clay Stamp Necklace How to make an anklet or bracelet!!!! (really cool) […]

  2. Hindsight Fashion: Raver Bracelets « The Hindsight Letters - May 18, 2011

    […] Though Raver Bracelets looked super hip, they did have their drawbacks. They were very heavy. I often felt as though I was building my arm muscles simply by wearing all those bracelets every day. They were very bulky. This made it difficult to wear any long sleeve shirt that was tight in the forearm. They garnered the same stupid comments Every Single Day (“Hey. You sure do wear a lot of bracelets.” Duh.). They were very hot in the summer time because the beads covered so much surface area that the skin on your arms couldn’t breathe. This also meant that the bracelets took on a distinct smell by the end of the summer, similar to that of the Twine Necklace. […]

Leave a Reply

