The Hindsight Notes: Sibling Rivalry

1 Apr

The Hindsight Notes is a recurring section created for all you readers wanting to participate in THL, but lacking time to write a full letter. Each Note is composed of a question. All you need to do is answer it, in the form of a comment (below).

This week’s topic is: Sibling Rivalry.

It’s a relationship constantly walking that love/hate line. Or maybe that like/dislike line. Whether you fought like cats and dogs or were BFF’s all the time, we want to hear all about your relationship with your sibs during the tumultuous teenaged years.

Did you cover for each other? Tattle on each other? Compete with each other? Party with each other? If you’re an only child, did you ever miss having a sibling with whom to share the blame for teenaged escapades?

As always, I’ll start us out:

______________________

If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one!

 

 


10 Responses to “The Hindsight Notes: Sibling Rivalry”

  1. thehindsightletters April 1, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

    I’m going to start this off by saying how much I love my brother. He’s a super cool dude. Way cooler than I am. I think in some weird mutation he managed to get all the cool genes and I got all the nerd genes. He’s an awesome person and good friend and I’m lucky to have him as my bro (*Awwww*).

    But there were numerous times where he made me loopy as a teenager. There are 6 years between my brother and I, so when I was, say, 14, he was only 8 years old. This meant that when I was just getting into my “don’t tell Mom” phase, he was big time in his “tell Mom everything” phase. Tattling was a common occurance. I remember so clearly one time, coming home from school and mumbling something about my “stupid backpack” or the like, and Keaton running to my Mom complaining that I had said the word “Stupid”- strictly forbidden in our house (!). Another time, he caught me kissing the neighbour in a game of truth or dare. Word travelled quickly.

    Since he was only 8, there was little that I could tattle on him for. Until one night, my parents asked me to babysit while they went out to Bible Study. Keaton had a friend over and the two of them decided that it might be fun to explode various items in the microwave while the parentals were away. Shattered glass and food mush was everywhere. And let me tell you, I tattled SO FAST and SO HAPPILY as soon as everyone got home.

    I think the biggest thing that I can say is HOW MUCH EASIER he got it than I did. When I was a teenager, I wasn’t allowed to say “stupid”. When Keaton was a teenager, he could essentially do whatever the heck he wanted without being punished. Ah, the burden of being the oldest child…

  2. Anna Walker April 1, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

    I’m with you on the oldest child thing…

    Anyway, my sister and I are 2.5 years apart, so we were teenagers together for several years, and let me tell you, we did NOT get along. She was mean to me and never cleaned her side of our room and told on my all the time, while I covered for her all the time and protected her and took care of her like a big sister should. But good heavens we fought like cats and dogs!

    Fortunately, we get along now. Actually, we’re just about best friends.

    • thehindsightletters April 2, 2011 at 1:04 pm #

      ‘Tis the burden of being the oldest child indeed 🙂 That’s so great that you get along so well now!

  3. 'BOTB April 2, 2011 at 10:52 am #

    My sister is 9 years older than me so for much of my childhood, we had very little in common. Yet, I adored her to the fullest. Still do and she’s now my best friend!

    • thehindsightletters April 2, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

      Awwww 🙂 It’s great to hear that our readers have formed such strong bonds with their siblings post-adolescence!

  4. magnolia April 2, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

    i had the best possible time with sibling rivalry as a kid: i have no siblings. 🙂

    what i did have was a band of best friends, all of whom are only children as well, and we functioned as brothers and sisters to each other. we didn’t fight much, though, because we had the great luxury of being able to go to our respective homes when we bugged each other. best of both worlds.

    • thehindsightletters April 5, 2011 at 5:48 am #

      That does sound pretty awesome 🙂 How funny that you were all only children! That’s hilarious! I’m sure it added a certain level of understanding too. Super cool.

  5. Erin April 4, 2011 at 2:27 pm #

    My brother and I both had milestone birthdays this year. I turned 30 in June, and in December, my baby brother and only sibling became a teenager.

    There are seventeen and a half years between us. My parents surprised me (and themselves, to be honest) with the news just as my Junior year ended, and little bro made his appearance in time to wear footie pajamas to my graduation. With that kind of an age gap, we obviously weren’t going to experience many coming-of-age moments together, and certainly not in the same way. Instead, I have to opportunity to act as spectator to his journey into adulthood, and occasionally attempt to impart some of my earned wisdom onto him. Some of the time, he even pretends to listen to me.

    Since most of my advice tends to be received with an eye roll and an “Okay, Sis”, I thought I’d try sharing it here.

    Dear Teenage Brother,

    If you ever stand up a girl for a televised football game, I will personally come over and yell at you. She won’t need to. There is more to life than football. It’s fine in moderation, but should not dictate when you go out and see your friends, or when you spend time with your family. It also should not distract you so much that your friends and family might as well not even be there. I don’t want to see you grow up to be the kind of guy who makes his fiancee plan the wedding around The Big Game.

    Your mother is way smarter than you give her credit. She’s been a teenager and raised another one. Believe it or not, she does possess a brain, and uses it rather well, I’d say. Give her a chance, and she might prove more helpful than you’d think.

    This too shall pass. That’s the best advice I was ever given. Acne will pass. Inconsiderate, horrible, awful classmates will pass. However, remember that Summer Vacations will also pass. School dances will pass. First kisses and Driving exams will also pass. Try not to let them pass unnoticed or uncelebrated.

    Lastly, you are an amazing, brilliant, gorgeous, and wonderful brother. You’re also goofy as hell, and I love that about you. Thank you for coming into my life and turning it completely upside-down. I wouldn’t have it any other way. Love, Sis.

    • thehindsightletters April 5, 2011 at 5:46 am #

      What a beautiful Letter!!!! Thank you so much for sharing this with us! It sounds like your brother is very lucky to have such a caring and kind sister. Please know also that THL is always accepting new submissions, and we would be thrilled if you ever wanted to submit a Letter to YOUR teenaged self. Thank you so much!

      • Fatmanur June 5, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

        Chandra Posted on Love it! Glad I had a chance to run with you the other day! Helped me to get back on track while I was up there! Know that you keep me insipred!

Leave a Reply

