Hindsight Idols: Corey Mason

16 Mar

Every style has an originator. A special someone who wears a look in such a way that everyone else wants to as well. Throughout the decades, teenagers have had their idols, and in many cases, tried their darndest to look just like them. Hindsight Idols is a section about the celebrities, characters and personas that we’ve wanted so badly to emulate.

This week’s Hindsight Idol is: Corey Mason.

Corey Mason was Liv Tyler’s character in the 1995 film, Empire Records. Corey was the beautiful daughter of a wealthy family, and was destined for success. She was sweet. She was smart. She had a kick ass job. And the cutest guy at Empire Records, the brooding artist type, A.J., was in love with her. She had everything going for her.

Given the fact that the film takes place in one very long, very eventful day, Corey’s style is summed up by a single outfit, albeit including the undies. Corey wears a fuzzy blue sweater, sweet blue and green kilt, and army boots. Her brown hair is straight and parted down the middle.

As soon as I saw this movie, I rushed out and bought a pale blue crew neck sweater. It was a shorter one, and I remember that when I wore it with my Mom Jeans it exposed a little bit of midriff. I was 13 and this blue sweater made me feel like Liv Tyler. When I put it on, I transformed into Corey Mason. I was sure it would act as a magnet to swiftly attract my very own A.J.

Obviously I need to address the scene where Corey strips for her celebrity idol, Rex Manning. She takes off her clothes to reveal a red push up bra and white undies. Now, given the fact that I was new to the concept of sexuality, I must admit that this was a very formative seed in my future beliefs about what was sexy. The red bra/white undies combo was the perfect mix between skanky and sweet- the perfect mix to entice any aging pop star with a Madonna/Whore complex whist bringing him his lunch.

I think what I loved most about Corey was the fact that she was smart and nice and still managed to be popular. At 13, all the popular girls I knew were vicious. Corey was like a beacon of hope for me, that maybe one day, I too could have a dreamy boyfriend and a cool job without having to join the mean girls.

So, Corey Mason, I would like to thank you for being an inspiration to my social life and enlightening my 13-year-old brain on the fine line between sexy and sweet.

Damn the man. Save the Empire.

_________________

If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one!

4 Responses to “Hindsight Idols: Corey Mason”

  1. aka gringita March 16, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

    “I think what I loved most about Corey was the fact that she was smart and nice and still managed to be popular. At 13, all the popular girls I knew were vicious. Corey was like a beacon of hope for me, that maybe one day, I too could have a dreamy boyfriend and a cool job without having to join the mean girls.”

    LIKE! Nay, love (the sentiment if not the experience of connecting with Corey herself).

    • thehindsightletters March 16, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

      Sometimes we all need a little proof that nice girls don’t finish last, right? 🙂

  2. classbookworm March 19, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    I’ve never seen Empire Records, but I was apparently emulating Corey before the Empire needed saving. I have a picture of my kindergarten class (circa ’89-90) with me in the front with my arms held out, holding everyone back. I may or may not have been center of attention then. 🙂
    Totally agree with the idea of a nice popular girl. Is it possible? But I have a theory on that: I think “mean popular girls” can’t really be popular if only other mean girls like them. They’re really more, “well known” “dress cooler than you” girls. Eh.

    • thehindsightletters March 21, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

      Very well said. I had never thought about it that way before. How many of the Mean Girls’ “friends” were just too afraid of them to do anything but grovel?

Leave a Reply

