The Hindsight Notes: Teenaged Archetype

11 Mar

The Hindsight Notes is a recurring section created for all you readers wanting to participate in THL, but lacking time to write a full letter. Each Note is composed of a question. All you need to do is answer it, in the form of a comment (below).

This week’s topic is: Your Teenaged Archetype.

Every teen movie ever created plays off of the teenaged archetypes we’ve gathered in the collective unconscious. The popular girl (Alicia Silverstone as Cher Horowitz). The mean girl (Rachel McAdams as Regina George). The rich kid (James Spader as Steff). Though their personalities might seem specific to the stories, their character traits are broad enough to cover a spectrum of teenagers.

So this week, we want to know: If you had to pick one Teen Movie Character to represent yourself as you were during your adolescence, who would it be? Why? Are you still like him or her?

As always, I’ll start us out:

_______________________

If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one!

 

5 Responses to “The Hindsight Notes: Teenaged Archetype”

  1. thehindsightletters March 11, 2011 at 7:03 am #

    Although there are a lot of characters I’ve identified with, I’m going to have to say the one that most closely reflects how I felt as a teenager is Drew Barrymore as Josie Gellar (or more aptly, “Josie Grossie”) in “Never Been Kissed”.

    She’s socially awkward. She’s kind of funny looking. She tries really, really, way too hard to be cool. She gets flustered talking to the popular kids and mixes up her words. She spills chocolate milk on her white jeans. She’s that girl. You know, that girl that you really want to like, but ultimately the fact that she’s trying so hard to make you like her is what turns you off.

    But she’s also very sensitive. She’s smart. She has an interesting perception of the world. And her real self is a lot older and more mature than the teenaged role that she’s forced to play for the time being.

    That is, in a nutshell, me as a teenager.

    I was never very good at it. I always felt like I was a thirtysomething trapped inside a teenaged world. Interacting with my peers was always a struggle because I didn’t identify with them. And although I felt hopelessly trapped inside the emotional rollercoaster that is adolescence, I also felt like an outsider looking in on it. Watching and observing the twists and turns, saving up the lessons for my later years (and perhaps this project!).

    I just love the scene where Josie is sitting with her brother, yelling “I’m not Josie Grossie anymore!!!”. I feel like I’ve spent so many years trying to shake my identity as the supernerd, but I’m brought back there all the time. I think that’s actually what sparked the idea for The Hindsight Letters in the first place- the fact that so many years after my adolescence, I can be instantly transported back there and feel like I’m that awkward 14 year old again. And in many ways, I still am. I guess no matter how badly we want them to, some things never change 🙂

    • aka gringita March 11, 2011 at 11:31 am #

      Oh yeah. This was totally me, too. (Augh)

      • thehindsightletters March 14, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

        Isn’t it frightening to see yourself from this perspective? 😉

  2. magnolia March 11, 2011 at 10:26 am #

    jane lane, daria’s best friend. i was never quite as dark as daria; i did like parties and socializing, and i was a serial joiner. but i was sarcastic, dismissive, etc. really, if you took daria’s overachieving and mixed it with jodi’s activity level and jane’s sarcasm, that’d be about right. but jane was closest.

    • thehindsightletters March 14, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

      I love it! I’m going to have to beef up on my Daria episodes now 🙂

Leave a Reply

