The Hindsight Notes: Clubbin’ It

4 Mar

The Hindsight Notes is a recurring section created for all you readers wanting to participate in THL, but lacking time to write a full letter. Each Note is composed of a question. All you need to do is answer it, in the form of a comment (below).

This week’s topic is: Clubs, Teams, and Groups.

Maybe it was sports. Maybe it was music. Maybe it was drama. Or maybe you formed a school sanctified fan club honouring your favourite campy Canadian television program.

Unless you were a total hermit, you were probably involved in some kind of extra-curricular activity during your teenaged years. So this week, we want to hear all about it. What team were you on? How much time did it take? Were your friends involved too? Why did you want to take time outside of class to spend more time at school?

As always, I’ll start us out:

___________________

If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one!

9 Responses to “The Hindsight Notes: Clubbin’ It”

  1. thehindsightletters March 4, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

    My initial reaction to this question was to say that I wasn’t involved in any extra-curricular activities, since I’m not much of a team player (Ha ha). But looking back, I was actually involved in quite a few: there was the badminton club, student council, choir, and school play in grade seven; band in grade 8; and the poetry club in grade 9 (I joined fewer clubs as I became progressively jaded).

    But I must say that the most memorable club I was involved with was the Degrassi Fan Club that my friend and I (Shout out to Maya!) started. It all began with a challenge to see which of our friends could score the most photos in the school yearbook. We snuck into every candid shot we could find, and jumped in front of the camera whenever we saw it. But we quickly realized that the best way to maximize yearbook photo real estate was to start a club. The obvious choice, of course, was to start a club paying tribute to the greatest work of Canadian Television to date, the original Degrassi. We filled out paperwork and sought out a staff member to sponsor the group in order to make it official. We gathered members and even held a couple of meetings (although granted, they were mostly about taking pictures).

    Though I can’t say that our little extra-curricular group accomplished much more than yearbook photos, I can say that it was way more fun that joining the mathletes.

    • MB March 10, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

      AMAZING. I’m so glad that this story will live on for all eternity online. I was just telling some people about this photo competition and the resulting club three days ago… funnily enough, it was while we were flipping through another school’s yearbook and I had been thinking about the fact that I too wasn’t much of a “team player”.

      We certainly carved out our own niche.

      • thehindsightletters March 10, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

        Ha! I’m so glad you saw this!!! Degrassi Fan Club was by far one of my best high school memories. I’m dying to dig out my yearbook now and comb it for all the errant photos of us hidden in the back of the ESL or chess club pictures 🙂 Amazing indeed.

  2. magnolia March 4, 2011 at 6:07 pm #

    it would be quicker to list what i WASN’T involved with in high school. i did everything – student government, mock congress, model UN, dance, newspaper, french club, national honor society, etc., etc., etc. i was one of those do-gooder kids. my resume was longer than one page in twelfth grade.

    i was insane. 🙂

    • Anna Walker March 4, 2011 at 8:35 pm #

      Ditto here. I didn’t want to be at home, so I stayed at school as long as I could, for as many reasons as I could.

      • thehindsightletters March 5, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

        Good call. Legitimate excuses to be away. “I won’t be home until X time. But, it’s for school…” Very smart!

    • thehindsightletters March 5, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

      Apparently! Good for you for being so involved!! I’ll bet that was actually a huge help moving ahead with University and career. You put my Degrassi Fan Club to shame 😦

  3. multiplicity March 4, 2011 at 6:29 pm #

    Me and one of my best mates set up a club (and also got it officially designated by a teacher – well my dad but hey it still counted) dedicated to the making and eating of cake. Meetings were held, entry was only allowed with a home made cake. We then ate the cakes and the Meeting was over. It was simple and although initially successful faded out as we both were actually involved in fairly time consuming other activities.
    I tried to breach the geek and girl jock gap and in doing so found myself in a strange middle ground.. gasping for air and never having free time. Nothing has changed, my dual life continued throughout uni and still does today. A friend asked me last week whether work or hockey was what made me most happy with life, when i replied neither what made me most satisfied with life was the quiet moments in between, my friend asked why I didn’t allow myself more —- because then they wouldn’t be so satisfying.

    • thehindsightletters March 5, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

      Another busy bee! Love the cake making/eating club!!! You have inspired me to start one of my own. But perhaps I will be the only member. And perhaps it will only involve the eating portion 🙂

Leave a Reply

