*NEW* Hindsight Idols: Cher Horowitz

2 Mar

Every style has an originator. A special someone who wears a look in such a way that everyone else wants to as well. Throughout the decades, teenagers have had their idols, and in many cases, tried their darndest to look just like them. Hindsight Idols is a new section about the celebrities, characters and personas that we’ve wanted so badly to emulate.

This week’s Hindsight Idol is: Cher Horowitz.

“Okay, so you’re probably going, ‘Is this like a Noxzema commercial or what?’ But seriously, I actually have a way normal life for a teenage girl.”

Of course this section had to be launched with a Love Letter to my favourite teenaged Idol, the character who taught me everything I know about boys, clothes, and makeup, Cher Horowitz from the classic 1995 teen movie, Clueless.

The character of Cher Horowitz was played by Alicia Silverstone. Cher was beautiful, blonde, and popular. She drove a kick ass little white jeep and she had a computer program that chose her school outfits for her (can I explain to you how badly I wanted that?). Cher was definitely Clueless, but her heart was always in the right place, and she was always willing to lend a helping hand.

I personally believe that Cher was responsible for launching the “baby doll” look that was so popular throughout the nineties. In the movie, she wore teensy tiny plaid kilts paired with thigh-high socks, mini-backpacks, and platform shoes. She took notes in class using a pen that had a fluffy tuft of feathers at the tip. Her long blonde hair was always worn straight, but loose, parted down the middle.

I was absolutely obsessed with Cher as an early teen. The irony and sarcasm of the movie was completely lost on me until my adult years. At 13, I was positive that Cher knew all the answers, and if I could just make myself exactly like her then my life would be perfect. I parted my hair down the middle. I said silly things like “as if”. I took notes in class with a fluffy feather pen. I bought baby tees and mini backpacks galore.

Sadly, I never came close to being a very good C. H. impersonator. Nor did my life resemble hers at all, no matter how hard I tried. But still, something about her character, and the world in which she existed, gave me hope. It made me smile.

So, Cher Horowitz, The Hindsight Letters would like to salute you with a hearty “Whatever” (*places hands in “W” formation*). Thanks for being such an important fashion inspiration to teenagers everywhere.

We’re outtie.


4 Responses to “*NEW* Hindsight Idols: Cher Horowitz”

  1. holly March 3, 2011 at 7:05 am #

    As best as I could possibly do in rural Kentucky, I made Cher Horowitz *my life.* I LOVED her. Plaid skirts and patent leather Mary Janes and knee socks all over my middle school. And this is still one of my favorite glue movies.

    What a great hindsight idol choice!

    • thehindsightletters March 3, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

      Yay! Glad you liked it 🙂 After all, what’s cuter than a kilt and knee socks?

  2. magnolia March 3, 2011 at 8:22 pm #

    still, and forever will be, one of my very favorite movies. and oh, wasn’t paul rudd just delicious.

    • thehindsightletters March 3, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

      I love Paul Rudd!!! This was the first role I ever saw him in, and I’ve loved him ever since 🙂

Leave a Reply

