The Hindsight Notes: Rumours

18 Feb

The Hindsight Notes is a recurring section created for all you readers desperate to participate in THL, but lacking time to write a full letter. Each Note is composed of a question. All you need to do is answer it, in the form of a comment (below).

This week’s topic is: Rumours.

Ugh. Rumours. Possibly the ugliest part of adolescence. People, by nature, love gossip. And in the world of high school, where hormones rage and the name of the game is survival, a single nasty rumour can make or break your entire social existence.

You know you’ve been there. Maybe you spread a rumour about someone else. Maybe someone else spread a rumour about you. Whichever way it went, we want to hear about it.

As always, I’ll start us out:

_______________________

If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one!

 

 

 

 

10 Responses to “The Hindsight Notes: Rumours”

  1. thehindsightletters February 18, 2011 at 10:30 pm #

    Sadly, I’ve been the subject of several pretty major rumours. As much as I wanted to blend into the wallpaper during my teen years, I somehow always managed to make an excellent subject for gossip.

    The most persistent rumour that I dealt with happened in Junior High. I’m not even exactly sure how this one came about (although I suspect it had to do with Amanda S., mentioned in “Letter 8: She’s Mean To You Because She’s Fat”), but at some point, people started saying that I had an eating disorder.Now, I’ve never been a chubby girl, but I’ve never been particularly skinny either, so this one was always a mystery to me (also, anyone who knows me can attest to the fact that I eat like a horse and take great pleasure in doing so).

    I remember sitting in class one day when the teacher played a made-for-TV movie in which the character was bulimic. Although the lights were out in the classroom, I could feel all the students’ eyes on me. The whispering began. Sure enough, by lunch time, I was approached by our gym teacher, taken aside and given a stern talking-to about the importance of eating my lunch. At the time, this was devastating. I felt so betrayed knowing that my classmates were talking behind my back, and saying things that were so untrue. My little teenaged sense of justice was so offended. I felt so helpless, because I couldn’t find any way to remedy the situation. What was I going to do- hold a press conference?

  2. Nikki February 21, 2011 at 1:10 pm #

    Long time reader, first time commenter! I was just talking with a friend about ridiculous rumors the other day and had to share.
    At the beginning of Junior year in high school, I broke up with a guy I’d been dating for the past 4 months. He didn’t take it well and proceeded to start a rumor that I’d slept with a DOZEN people. I found it hysterically funny, as I was still a virgin at the time and hadn’t even kissed a dozen people, let alone done the deed with him. The worst part was, people believed him!
    Towards the end of my Junior year, I helped one of my guy friends who’d recently come out to start a Gay-Straight Alliance in our school. I really enjoyed going to the group meetings and hanging out and making new friends. Of course, people found out I went to the GSA meetings and everyone started whispering and snickering that I was a lesbian…the same people who a few months earlier had said I’d slept with 12 people!
    All I could do when I heard these things was laugh-it’s just so ridiculous!

    • thehindsightletters February 22, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

      It’s amazing how all these silly rumours are always so far from the truth! Like, of course you must be lesbian if you went to the GSA meetings. Not like it’s a “Gay-Straight” alliance or anything… 🙂 Thanks so much for diving in and “first time commenting”! That cracked me up!

  3. Anna Walker February 21, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    Someone once started a rumor that I made out with some guy, which I didn’t care about…until the rumor got to my Nazi-strict mother! It took hours of arguing to convince her that it wasn’t true…as if we didn’t fight about enough things already.

    • thehindsightletters February 22, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

      That story sounds like it jumped right out of MY adolescence! Something almost identical happened to me! Ugh. Rumours!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Hindsight Notes: Teenaged Bedroom « The Hindsight Letters - April 15, 2011

    […] If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one! […]

  2. The Hindsight Notes: Parental Beef « The Hindsight Letters - April 22, 2011

    […] If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one! […]

  3. The Hindsight Notes: Celebrity Crush « The Hindsight Letters - May 6, 2011

    […] If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one! […]

  4. The Hindsight Notes: Detention! « The Hindsight Letters - May 13, 2011

    […] If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one! […]

  5. The Hindsight Notes: Rules « The Hindsight Letters - June 3, 2011

    […] If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one! […]

Leave a Reply

