The Hindsight Notes: Favourite School Subject

11 Feb

The Hindsight Notes is a recurring section created for all you readers desperate to participate in THL, but lacking time to write a full letter. Each Note is composed of a question. All you need to do is answer it, in the form of a comment (below).

This week’s topic is: What was your favourite high school subject?

We’ve talked about your Least Favourite Class. Now we want to know, which was your most favourite? Why? Was it simply because you were good at it? Or maybe because you enjoyed the challenge? What was it about that subject that made it your favourite? Most importantly, did the interest spawned during your teen years spark into a University Major, or even a Career?

As always, I’ll start us out:

_______________

If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one!

 

12 Responses to “The Hindsight Notes: Favourite School Subject”

  1. thehindsightletters February 11, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

    Interestingly, though I was an English Major in University, English was not generally my favourite subject in High School. I’m going to have to say that my favourite subject throughout High School was Social Studies. Now, this is a broad term, so it applies to a few different classes that I took, most of which had to do with evolution, anthropology, and sociology. I think I liked the subject so much because it was information that was applicable to real life. I actually was interested in the things I was studying. I actually wanted to read the text books (Ahem, Geek!).On the contrary, in my least favourite class, Math, I would find myself staring at the ceiling, bored out of my mind, thinking about the fact that there would never be another time in my life where I would need to understand algorithms. I think I needed that “Why do I need to know this?” in order to keep my attention.

    My only real current connection to the world of “Social Studies” is my interest in random anthropological documentaries on Netflix. My husband and I will often be perusing our “Recently Watched” section and he will see some weird “Walking With Australopithecus” PBS documentary and say “Were you watching this??”

  2. Anna Walker February 11, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

    GOOD GOD I LOVED MATH.

    Which makes it no surprise that I went on to study chemistry with a focus on quantum mechanics. DELICIOUS.

    • thehindsightletters February 11, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

      You were the student I was always jealous of! I wanted so badly to understand and be interested in math. But it was always like a foreign language that I just could not pick up. You must be a smartie pants! 🙂

  3. magnolia February 12, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

    yeah, not a math kid. not. at. all. i relished american history, which ended up being my major in college. ‘course, it got me nowhere professionally; my dad likes to tell me that i majored in trivia. but hell, i liked it. and now, when i talk to other lawyers, i am very interesting.

    • thehindsightletters February 16, 2011 at 3:33 pm #

      Totally! You’re “well-rounded”, right? Ha ha. I feel the same way about all the classes I took in University on The Beats. Not terribly useful at the playground, but if I ever get myself out to a dinner party again, I can spout some interesting quotes 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Hindsight Notes: Sneaking Out « The Hindsight Letters - April 8, 2011

    […] If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one! […]

  2. The Hindsight Notes: Teenaged Bedroom « The Hindsight Letters - April 15, 2011

    […] you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this […]

  3. The Hindsight Notes: Parental Beef « The Hindsight Letters - April 22, 2011

    […] you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this […]

  4. The Hindsight Notes: Celebrity Crush « The Hindsight Letters - May 6, 2011

    […] you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this […]

  5. The Hindsight Notes: Detention! « The Hindsight Letters - May 13, 2011

    […] you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this […]

  6. The Hindsight Notes: Teenaged Favourite Book « The Hindsight Letters - May 20, 2011

    […] If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one! […]

  7. The Hindsight Notes: Rules « The Hindsight Letters - June 3, 2011

    […] you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this […]

Leave a Reply

