The Hindsight Notes: Teenaged Theme Song

4 Feb

The Hindsight Notes is a recurring section created for all you readers wanting to participate in THL, but lacking time to write a full letter. Each Note is composed of a question. All you need to do is answer it, in the form of a comment (below).

This week’s topic is: Your Teenaged Theme Song.

We’ve talked about your Teenaged Playlist, now we’re going to narrow it down even further. We want to know: If you had to pick one song to be the Theme Song of your Teenaged Life, what would it be? Why? It could be simply because it was your favourite song. Or because you identified with the lyrics. Or because the title sums up your teenaged years (i.e. The above song. Or maybe that’s just me…).

We know it’s hard to drill it down to one song. But we want you to try anyway.

As always, I’ll start us out:

______________

If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one!

11 Responses to “The Hindsight Notes: Teenaged Theme Song”

  1. thehindsightletters February 4, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    I’m going to have to say that my teenaged anthem was “Angeles” by Elliott Smith. I first heard it at 13, and I remember being completely mesmerized by the quick, flowy-staccato guitar melody at the beginning. Like a steady, delicate rain. Next, of course, Elliott Smith’s beautiful and heartbreaking voice. I was captivated. I would sit in my room and listen to it on repeat for hours.

    No matter where my musical tastes took me (even through my super punk rock phase), no matter what highs or lows I was experiencing, that song stayed with me as my favourite. And it continues to be my favourite now. I even played it for my daughter in-utero, putting the headphones over my gigantic belly and blasting the tune. It’s amazing how a song can carry you through so many stages in your life.

  2. magnolia February 4, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

    “i’ll get there,” all. a random throwaway track on the 1998 warped tour compilation, and it’s pretty amazing. kind of the theme song of my life, even now.

    • thehindsightletters February 6, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

      It’s 2 Minutes in Here, I think. I just love that this is off a Warped Tour Compilation. The Warped Tour was like little punk rock summercamp as a teenager 🙂

  3. eternallyemo February 5, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

    This is an easy one: “Creep” by Radiohead.

    It perfectly describes how inadequate I felt, and still feel to this day, especially with the girl I blog about.

    If you haven’t heard the song, here are the lyrics:
    http://www.songmeanings.net/songs/view/583

  4. Mary Kimbrough February 5, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

    ELO’s Rockaria is the song I chose to define my teenage years. I was am a music freak and love all kinds~poppy rocky though is my favorite! Rockaria I played over and over…exuberantly…still do. I loved the references to early music (cuz I was a music history geek) It made me dance, party, drive fast, feel happy, like the world was my oyster. Oh and did I forget to mention SING…at the tip top of my teenaged lungs. Yeah I was a happy and optimistic kid…this music reflected my mood, in hindsight….

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Hindsight Notes: Sibling Rivalry « The Hindsight Letters - April 1, 2011

    […] If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one! […]

  2. The Hindsight Notes: Sneaking Out « The Hindsight Letters - April 8, 2011

    […] you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this […]

  3. The Hindsight Notes: Teenaged Favourite Book « The Hindsight Letters - May 20, 2011

    […] you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this […]

Leave a Reply

