The Hindsight Notes: Grounded!

28 Jan

The Hindsight Notes is a recurring section created for all you readers wanting to participate in THL, but lacking time to write a full letter. Each Note is composed of a question. All you need to do is answer it, in the form of a comment (below).

This week’s topic is: Grounded!

You know you’ve been there. Maybe you were trying to prove something to the other kids. Maybe you were being mouthy with your parents. Maybe you were trying to be a tough guy. A badass. Whatever the reason, your parents decided to teach you a lesson. You were grounded.

We want to hear all about your most memorable Grounding. What did you do to deserve it? Did you even deserve it? Did you miss any major events being stuck in the house?

As always, I’ll start us out:

____________________

If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one!

 

9 Responses to “The Hindsight Notes: Grounded!”

  1. thehindsightletters January 28, 2011 at 9:13 am #

    I would like to preface my little Grounded story with a statement about the unfair nature of being the oldest child: My little brother has NO IDEA how easy he got it!!!!!!! Keaton, if you are reading this, I would like to again state that you owe me BIG TIME!!!! In fact, I do not even know if my brother was ever grounded for anything. I think that whatever stupid, rebellious, badass things he did as a teenager, my parents just looked at him and thought “Oh well. Kyra did something like that. We punished her for it. Why should we bother punishing you too? Just go ask her what she learned.” Or something like that.

    In any event, I had many groundings. I mentioned one of the incidents in “Letter 14: How To Break Up With Your First Friend”. I’m going to say that my most memorable grounding was one for which my “wrongdoing” is laughable in hindsight. Mom, I’m apologizing in advance, because this will probably embarrass you. This incident will also likely be included in a future Letter, so brace yourself.

    When I was 12, my parents had recently converted to Right Wing Christianity. My Mother in particular was frightened of any and all secular music and/or Pop Culture generally. As such, I was forbidden from watching MuchMusic or owning any of the albums that were labeled by Focus On The Family as being “dangerous”. (This was a very strange and interesting revelation considering that my parents were Musicians and had been Hippies for most of their adult lives). Naturally, this meant that I was completely out of the loop for most of my early teenagerhood. At one point, I decided to borrow my next door neighbour’s albums and tape them so that I could have some social currency in the topsy turvy world of Junior High. I hid under my bed with my double tape recorder and made copies of “Dookie”, “Melancholy and the Infinite Sadness”, and “Nevermind”. I promptly hid the original tapes in my closet. My Mother promptly found them. I was immediately grounded for listening to “the devil’s music”.

    Eventually, my Mother’s psychosis faded and she began to loosen her grip. I was eventually allowed to listen to whatever music I wanted to. And, when my brother became a teenager, he could essentially bring home prostitutes and shoot intravenous drugs in the kitchen without my parents batting an eye. Okay. Maybe it wasn’t that bad. But again I would like to tell Keaton that he owes me for paving the way. Big time.

  2. Nikole Hahn January 28, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    Grounding never worked. Forced to face the corner, I would day dream. Forced to do weeds as punishment, I dissected worms. Forced to write an essay, I wrote a story. Forced to write sentences, I figured out a system to get it done quickly. Finally, forced to write 5,000 sentences did the trick.

    • thehindsightletters January 28, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

      Yikes! 5,000 sentences! You must have been a determined young one 🙂 I’m getting some great parenting advice here…

  3. magnolia January 28, 2011 at 10:53 am #

    i was only ever grounded once, when i used my flakiest friend as an alibi. i told my dad i was at her house when i was at a party with a boy (gasp!). my punishment: grounded for spring break. well, as it happens, that spring break, we were hit with a huge cold snap and it rained all week. so no one went to the beach or anything. it could’ve been a lot worse.

    my takeaway? get a MUCH better alibi. never got caught again.

    • thehindsightletters January 28, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

      Ha! I love it. Only lesson learned: how not to get caught. Perfect 🙂

  4. Faith A. Geek January 31, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

    Ha! When I was thirteen I started staying home a lot by myself because I was teaching myself at home. Before that I had some issues with my parents catching me on the computer when they were gone. Instead of not getting onto the computer, I figured out how to do so. Even if they found out and grounded me, I figured out how to delete the history and make it appear that I never used the thing. I spent two years using the computer almost everyday and I don’t think I ever got caught.

    • thehindsightletters February 2, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

      Ah! This Note is becoming a lesson to me on what to watch out for when my daughter becomes a teenager! I’m scared! 🙂

  5. nikki February 11, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    My groundings were always grade-related because I was LAZY. Probably the laziest student ever.

    My friend wrote a great grounded poem:

    The room I am in is grey and cold
    The food on my plate is nasty and old
    The book in my lap has been read many times
    I know every word, every verse and line.
    Long ago I leaped and bounded
    But now I do not, for I am grounded.

    It was published in our school’s literary magazine.

Leave a Reply

