The Hindsight Notes: Teenaged Nemesis

21 Jan

Andy and her Teenaged Nemesis Steff in "Pretty In Pink"

The Hindsight Notes is a recurring section created for all you readers wanting to participate in THL, but lacking time to write a full letter. Each Note is composed of a question. All you need to do is answer it, in the form of a comment (below).

This week’s topic is: Your Teenaged Nemesis.

We’ve talked about your Teenaged Bestie. Now let’s talk about your Worstie. You probably remember them all too well. That person that made your skin crawl. The person that made you want to run in the other direction when you spotted them in the halls. The person that you were so glad to leave behind when you left school.

So tell us- who were they? What made them so aggravating? Have you ever run into them since leaving school?

As always, I’ll start us out:

____________________

If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one!

 

10 Responses to “The Hindsight Notes: Teenaged Nemesis”

  1. thehindsightletters January 21, 2011 at 7:29 am #

    Unfortunately, I had a few of these. I’ve discussed two of them in past Letters (Amanda S. in Letter 8, Jessica W. in Letter 33). The interesting thing is that, in looking back, the cliches are absolutely true and all the things my Mother told me were exactly right. The outright jealousy that motivated these girls is so blatantly obvious it’s a wonder they weren’t embarrassed by their own transparency.

    I have not run into Amanda S. at any point since Junior High (thank goodness) but I did spot Jessica W. at the supermarket one time while I was pregnant with my daughter. I was feeling absolutely gigantically full of baby, but was so tickled to see that Jessica W. was waddling away an even larger woman than I. And she was not with child. Superficial? Yes. Oddly satisfying? Also yes.

  2. deb January 21, 2011 at 7:32 am #

    Oh yes…. seeing someone who has aged worse than you is always SOOOOO gratifying! LOL

  3. Anna Walker January 22, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

    It was always a whole clique of popular girls for me. They picked on my ruthlessly. Jerks.

    • thehindsightletters January 22, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

      Ugh! The cliques. Everyone’s a hero when they all get to hide behind one another. Jerks indeedy.

  4. xXspidergirlXx June 7, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

    This post just made me think about a few people who I really don’t want to meet after I leave school… ahem, AWKWARD considering the kind of things you say to eachother without realising how much it can mean…

    • Kyra Evans-Schultz June 7, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

      It’s true. Words are a very powerful thing. When I was a teenager, there wasn’t Facebook (that’s right. I’m old.). I can’t even imagine what it would be like to be in high school with the damaging potential of social media. I don’t think I would have come out alive!

      • xXspidergirlXx June 8, 2011 at 9:59 am #

        Haha I don’t actually have Facebook, and my “enemies” are too noobish to get msn, twitter, youtube etc, soooo…. yeah. =D Although I guess when you’re talking about school to your friends during an online chat, you say things you would probably never say in real life.
        Also, I followed you on Twitter!!!

      • Kyra Evans-Schultz June 8, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

        Thanks very much! I appreciate the follow- I’ll have to follow you as well 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Hindsight Notes: Frenemies « The Hindsight Letters - March 25, 2011

    […] If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one! […]

Leave a Reply

