Hindsight Fashion: HyperColor

19 Jan

Throughout the decades, teenagers have attempted to prove their coolness by wearing questionable accessories, hairstyles and items of clothing. Hindsight Fashion is a section about those trends that, in Hindsight, we probably wish we hadn’t worn.

This week’s Hindsight Fashion is HyperColor.

HyperColor clothing gained popularity in the early 1990’s. The unique selling point of Hypercolor clothing was that the fabric changed color according to body temperature. This meant that one could create patterns on the fabric by applying heat- generally through breath or touch (see the hand print on the woman’s shirt, right).

HyperColor shirts seemed really cool until you actually wore them. At the time when they came into fashion, I was fast approaching puberty. Things were changing at an alarming rate. I started needing to wear deodorant and purchased my first training bra. My Mother bought me my first and only HyperColor shirt, at my urging. It was in the attractive baby puke/yellow color combination pictured on the handsome gentleman above. I wore it to school proudly. I spent the day feeling extra confident because of my fashion choice. What could be cooler than a HyperColor shirt?

Upon returning home from school I looked in the mirror, intending to admire my Neato fashion statement. Much to my dismay, the HyperColor technology had done a little bit too good of a job. In bright yellow splotches, you could see not only the outline of my teensy tiny training bra, but also big circles underneath my arms. Needless to say, I promptly retired the shirt.

I imagine that it was embarrassing incidents such as this that lead to the demise of HyperColor fashion (Really. Who wants to advertise their sweaty armpits? Whose idea was this anyway?). I must admit, I am pleased that this trend has faded. However, I very much enjoyed watching the below HyperColor commercial, if only for the excellent “Running Man” dance that accompanies the ad. As long as the dancers are comfortable with sharing their sweat patterns with the world, I will be sufficiently content to watch.

9 Responses to “Hindsight Fashion: HyperColor”

  1. Kallyn January 19, 2011 at 10:10 am #

    The over sized baggy sweatshirts didn’t show the sweat marks! I wore mine through all of grade 5. The bad part was when other kids would come up and breathe on you…

    • thehindsightletters January 19, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

      Oooh, yuck! Anything that encourages strangers to breathe on you is a really bad idea in my opinion 🙂

  2. magnolia January 19, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

    i never actually owned my own hypercolor – they were insanely expensive. the few people i knew who had them never wore them; we just played with them. we viewed it less as a fashion statement and more as a toy.

    • thehindsightletters January 19, 2011 at 10:32 pm #

      Makes much more sense as a toy than a garment. In fact, it would be kind of brilliant as a toy. Why didn’t they just do that?

  3. Patricia DeWit January 19, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

    I have absolutely NO recollection of this. Admittedly, I was living in a place with the average daily temperature of 35*C. I don’t think that fad ever made it to Bkk!

    • thehindsightletters January 19, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

      Ha! That’s absolutely right. The whole “colour change” scenario doesn’t work as well when the entire garment is sweltering 🙂

  4. Corrie February 4, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

    I had a hypercolor sweatshirt that had a man on it. When he was cold he wore a suit and tie, when he was hot he was wearing beach clothes! I loved it. 🙂

    • thehindsightletters February 4, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

      That sounds awesome! Way cooler than the baby-puke colour one I had 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hindsight Fashion: The Single Earring « The Hindsight Letters - March 23, 2011

    […] If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one! […]

Leave a Reply

