The Hindsight Notes: First One-Too-Many

17 Dec

Popular Girl Caroline and The Geek in the John Hughes Film, Sixteen Candles

The Hindsight Notes is a recurring section created for all you readers wanting to participate in THL, but lacking time to write a full letter. Each Note is composed of a question. All you need to do is answer it, in the form of a comment (below).

This week’s topic is Your First One-Too-Many.

We’ve all been there. You were young. You were bored. You were feeling rebellious. Maybe you broke into your friend’s parents’ liquor cabinet. Maybe you decided that it would be a good idea to drink an entire bottle of Peach Schnapps on an empty stomach. Probably, you quickly realized that it was not.

Before the era of legal alcohol consumption, before you learned the proverb “beer before liquor, never been sicker”, there was a time when you made a few mistakes. And they probably made you very, very sick.

So this week, we want to hear all about your first experience with alcohol. We know. It might be a bit embarrassing. But no matter how sick you were, laughter is always the best medicine. So pass it around.

As always, I’ll start us out:

______________

If you liked this post, you’ll love this one and this one!

 

9 Responses to “The Hindsight Notes: First One-Too-Many”

  1. thehindsightletters December 17, 2010 at 9:12 am #

    My first real experience with drinking was at my girlfriend’s house in the 9th grade (*hint* she is now one of The Hindsight Letters’ Star Contributors!). Her parents were kind enough to allow a rowdy and hormonal group of teenaged girls over to spend the evening. We closed ourselves into the basement, played pool, listened to the Romeo and Juliet film soundtrack and watched Satellite TV.

    As I discussed in a previous letter (Letter 14: How to Break Up With Your First Friend), my best friendship with my very first girlfriend was disintegrating. That night, she buddied up to another girl, who was way cooler, way more popular and way more worldly than I. In an attempt to prove my coolness and win my friend back, I decided to sneak alcohol out of my friend’s liquor cabinet with a few of the other girls.

    My thinking was this: If it’s cool to drink a little, then it must be REALLY EXTRA SUPER COOL to drink a lot. And that’s what I did. I decided that I would drink nearly the entire contents of a bottle of Peach Schnapps. Mmmm. Tasty. The room started to spin almost immediately. I tried to drink through it but quickly found my head in the sink and my friend calling my parents.

    I don’t remember the ride home, or falling asleep that night. I do remember muttering something to my Dad about “having a stomach bug” as we were leaving my friend’s house. As if anyone was going to believe that one.

    So, in an attempt to win back my BFF, I actually wound up puking all over the place and having to call my parents to pick me up. Nothing says cool like a vomit soaked ride in your parents’ minivan. Needless to say, the evening didn’t quite go according to plan…

  2. yoursonginmyear December 17, 2010 at 10:14 pm #

    Can’t say I really remember the first time I got drunk. I was a little bad for a couple years there. But- one of my drinking memories that stands out is this one…
    I was 14 and spent a lot of time with an older cousin. She had introduced me to a lot of people, including a boy whose older brother had his own house, it even had a pool. At the first party I went to there, I had (stupidly) decided I wanted to get really drunk. Preceeded to drink 4 beers or so really fast. Went to burp… And all of that beer came out! In front of 20 people probably. Insanely embarassing. I can’t say I learned anything either. 🙂

    • thehindsightletters December 22, 2010 at 9:27 am #

      Ha! That’s classic! I so had one of those experiences at a “park party” with my older boyfriend’s friends. Awesome!

  3. magnolia December 19, 2010 at 1:40 pm #

    mardi gras 1997. i was fifteen years old. we drank old milwaukee and sutter home white zinfandel. it was… yeah. so great. no hangover, and because it’s mardi gras and morals are… looser, let’s say, i didn’t even get in trouble.

    and that’s why mardi gras is awesome. 🙂

    • thehindsightletters December 22, 2010 at 9:28 am #

      No kidding! No hangover and no parental consequences = good times.

  4. Mel December 20, 2010 at 10:09 am #

    I had quite a few ‘oops, shouldn’t have had that last one’ moments when I was young. However, the worst (and longest lasting) probably occurred when I went houseboating with my best friend. Too many apple cider coolers later and only one bathroom on a teeny, tiny, swaying houseboat shared with 8 other people…. need I say more??

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Hindsight Notes: Teenaged Archetype « The Hindsight Letters - March 11, 2011

    […] If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one! […]

  2. The Hindsight Notes: Frenemies « The Hindsight Letters - March 25, 2011

    […] you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this […]

Leave a Reply

