Hindsight Fashion: The One-Strap Overall

15 Dec

Throughout the decades, teenagers have attempted to prove their coolness by wearing questionable accessories, hairstyles and items of clothing. Hindsight Fashion is a section about those trends that, in Hindsight, we probably wish we hadn’t worn.

This week’s Hindsight Fashion is the One-Strap Overall.

One-Strap Overalls were just like any regular pair of overalls, except they were worn with one strap hanging off the shoulder. The style became popular in the early to mid 1990’s, and originated in the Hip Hop scene.

Generally speaking, trends that originate in the Hip Hop scene tend to have a greater meaning that leads to the trend (i.e. wearing one pant leg rolled up began so that one would not be concealing one’s weapon). I am sure that the One-Strap Overall is no exception to this rule. However, in researching this post, I was unable to find any answers as to the origin of this trend. As such, I am led to believe that there is really only one possibility:

The unfortunate part about overalls (other than their general appearance) is the fact that when one needs to use the washroom, one must undo both straps and pull the overalls down in order to disrobe. This can be time-consuming, and when one really needs to go, who has the time for such cumbersome measures? Wearing one strap hanging off the shoulder means one less strap to unbuckle prior to doing one’s business. Greater efficiency means more time to watch episodes of The Fresh Prince Of Bel-Air, the title character of which often paired One-Strap Overalls with patterned button-down rayon shirts.

I must admit, this style was on its way out as I entered my teen years. I do remember, however, wearing this trend as an awkward Tween. My personal favourite variation of the style was wearing my short overalls with one strap hanging off in the summertime.

As clothing began to generally get tighter and shorter toward the end of the decade, overalls left the fashion spotlight, one strap or otherwise. I do understand, however, that they are slowly making a comeback. Whether they will be worn with one strap or two remains to be seen. I personally can say that, whether on trend or not, I will always choose to wear my overalls with only one strap. Because you never know when you’ll really need to go.

________________

If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one!

6 Responses to “Hindsight Fashion: The One-Strap Overall”

  1. Faith A. Geek December 15, 2010 at 7:06 pm #

    haha! Now that’s one fashion trend I can do without. I stopped wearing overalls when I was eight and my tweety overalls got lost somehow… even then I was content with both straps buttoned 😀

    • thehindsightletters December 15, 2010 at 9:58 pm #

      Good call. I personally think that overalls are always best suited to the 8 and under crowd 🙂

  2. spidergirlxD December 19, 2010 at 9:19 am #

    Zomg the fresh prince of bel air!!! I remember my parents used to watch that when I was really little!!! xD

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hindsight Idols: Corey Mason « The Hindsight Letters - March 16, 2011

    […] If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one! […]

  2. Hindsight Fashion: White Jeans « The Hindsight Letters - June 1, 2011

    […] of white overalls that I wore in Grade 6. That’s right. White overalls. And I wore them with one strap hanging down. I thought they were pretty rockin’. That was until I was outside eating lunch and a lady bug […]

Leave a Reply

