Hindsight Fashion: The Novelty Wallet Chain

9 Dec

Me at 15 wearing a Novelty Wallet Chain

Throughout the decades, teenagers have attempted to prove their coolness by wearing questionable accessories, hairstyles and items of clothing. Hindsight Fashion is a section about those trends that, in Hindsight, we probably wish we hadn’t worn.

This week’s Hindsight Fashion is the Novelty Wallet Chain.

The Novelty Wallet Chain gained popularity alongside Phat Pants in the late 1990’s. It differed from the Legitimate Wallet Chain in that it didn’t actually protect one’s wallet from being stolen, but was instead used merely as a decorative accessory. Sometimes, the chain was not connected to a wallet at all, and was just pinned to the pants. If the Novelty Wallet Chain did actually connect to one’s wallet, and someone did decide to steal said wallet, the wearer probably wouldn’t notice anyway because the chain was so long that by the time the thief walked far enough away to tug on the chain, they might already have fled several miles.

Novelty Wallet Chains used various nonsensical materials such as baby blocks, wooden beads and craft pom poms strung together to create the chain. Generally speaking, a Novelty Wallet Chain Draped down to at or below the knee.

I personally had an impressive collection of Novelty Wallet Chains. The one pictured above was made from plastic chain which I purchased at a Home Hardware Store. At the time, I had an enormous crush on a teenaged boy who worked at the store, aptly nicknamed “Hardware Boy”. This gave me ample reason to return frequently to this hardware store to purchase more Novelty Wallet Chain materials. I also seem to remember wearing a Novelty Wallet Chain made of tinsel to a ska concert around Christmas time.

As Phat Pants began to lose their street cred, so did the Novelty Wallet Chain. Only the volume of a 60 inch pant leg could support the girth of a gigantic string of plastic bobbles hanging off the hip. Indeed, in researching this post, I have found it is now nearly impossible to even find photo examples of the Novelty Wallet Chain. It is like the extinct fashion equivalent of the Loch Ness Monster. Those who remember seeing one are saddled with the burden of proving its existence to future generations.

These days, I keep my wallet in my diaper bag. But on my busiest days, when I’m digging into the depths of the bag in the line-up at the grocery store, searching through a sea of errant Cheerios and baby accessories, I long for the days when I could just grab my gigantic string of plastic whatever, tug, and tug, and tug, and eventually reach the spot where I kept my wallet, every time.

______________

If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one!

12 Responses to “Hindsight Fashion: The Novelty Wallet Chain”

  1. Nini December 9, 2010 at 7:59 am #

    I can not comment on my own wallet chains… they were ridiculous. Blue chain, multiple heavy duty construction grade chains, Hawaiian leis, *shaking head*…
    Hardware boy! I love you…
    Hardware boy! I want you I want you I want you…

    oh wow. Thank you so much.

    • thehindsightletters December 9, 2010 at 3:14 pm #

      Ha! Oh, Amy. You were my Novelty Wallet Chain partner in crime. I don’t remember the Lei one for some reason. That sounds like a winner 🙂

  2. magnolia December 9, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

    haha – the wallet-chain crowd at my high school favored metal over plastic. they thought they were HARD. CORE. 🙂

    • thehindsightletters December 9, 2010 at 3:15 pm #

      Metal chain is definitely hardcore. Nothing says tough like a necklace hanging from your pants pocket.

  3. Faith A. Geek December 9, 2010 at 2:15 pm #

    Actually, that seems to be getting popular again (unless of course I’m just way out of date lol) my cousin had an obsession with chains on her pants a while ago but it kind of died off when she got married. I, for one, have been planning on getting one for a while now only not quite so big and metal, of course 🙂 I just actually have to go buy one.

    • thehindsightletters December 9, 2010 at 3:16 pm #

      Awesome! Maybe I should dig mine out and start wearing them again. Probably long enough for my toddler to use it to jump rope.

  4. lowsaltfoods December 11, 2010 at 4:09 pm #

    You could always just put your wallet in the pocket of your jeans, which are so tight that pickpocketing would be tantamount to sexual molestation.

    • thehindsightletters December 11, 2010 at 9:56 pm #

      Good call. That’s the difference now. Before, my pants were too baggy to safely allow me that option. Now, they’re too tight for me to fit my giant George Costanza wallet.

  5. Aluma Wallet January 10, 2012 at 6:56 pm #

    perfect wallet is a gentlemen choice.

  6. Sook Harell October 12, 2012 at 5:30 am #

    Decorative accessories must be made from lead-free plastics because it is much safer. ..:’;

    My current blog
    http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/grapefruit-seed-extract-uses/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hindsight Fashion: The Bra-Strap Headband « The Hindsight Letters - March 9, 2011

    […] If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one! […]

  2. Hindsight Idols: Corey Mason « The Hindsight Letters - March 16, 2011

    […] you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this […]

Leave a Reply

