The Hindsight Notes: Teenaged Bestie

3 Dec

Classic Teenaged Besties Andie and Duckie in the John Hughes Film, "Pretty in Pink"

The Hindsight Notes is a recurring section created for all you readers wanting to participate in THL, but lacking time to write a full letter. Each Note is composed of a question. All you need to do is answer it, in the form of a comment (below).

This week’s topic is: Your Teenaged Bestie.

Ever think about how much more intense your friendships were as a teenager? How seriously we all took the title BFF? How inseparable you were with your teenaged Bestie? There’s something about adolescence that bonds people in a way that doesn’t happen as you age.

So, tell us: Who was your teenaged Bestie? How did you meet? What was it that drew you to them? Are you still in touch? Now’s the time to share it all.

As always, I’ll start us out:

 

__________________

If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one!

 

9 Responses to “The Hindsight Notes: Teenaged Bestie”

  1. thehindsightletters December 3, 2010 at 7:31 am #

    I spoke about my teenaged Bestie in the very first Hindsight Letter (Letter 1: Friendships in the Wake of Love). In fact, when I began thinking about all my teenaged regrets, the biggest one that kept haunting me was how careless I was with our friendship once I met my first love.

    My Teenaged Bestie was Amy. We met at summer camp. We were in the same Arts and Crafts class. I can’t say for sure what drew me to her, but it might have been the fact that she was almost crazier than I was. She chose to speak with a lisp for the entire week, and never broke character. She did funny dances in front of the cute boys. She made me laugh SO. HARD.

    From that point on, we were pretty much inseparable. We discovered punk rock together. We went to every ska concert we could find, and to the important ones, wore coordinating costumes. On my 16th birthday, we went to Sears and had our photos taken together, using the little kid props like a carousel horse, giant crayons and feather boas. The thing that I remember most about our friendship is the way that we would do anything to make each other laugh.

    As I’ve mentioned in Letter 1, I made a pretty stupid mistake by allowing that friendship to fall apart. I was young and silly, and I now know what I lost. The good news is that we never lost touch, and, even though I’m living in Canada and she is in Korea, we still get to touch base often. She was The Hindsight Letters’ fledgling subscriber and her readership and support for this project has been absolutely priceless (Thank you Amy!!). In a way, reconnecting with my teenaged self through THL has allowed me also to reconnect with her. And for that, I am so completely grateful.

    I hope that someday we can live in the same city (or country!) and rekindle our adolescent bond. Until then, I’ll always have our Sears portraits as a reminder of a time when the most important thing to us was our time together.

  2. lowsaltfoods December 3, 2010 at 7:56 am #

    Who is my Teenage Best Friend? Honestly, I don’t know. So I guess, if I have to rack my brains, it pretty much says it all. For some reason, I never had the opportunity to develop that bond with someone but it wasn’t through want of trying. All I remember is that no one wanted to develop that bond with me. They were more interested in bullying me. Maybe it was partly my fault for not trusting anyone enough but whenever I let my guard down, it always seemed to backfire.

    Hmmm, this is a rather negative response to your question, so feel free to delete. I am off to the pub to drown my sorrows.

    • thehindsightletters December 3, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

      Aw! Well, have a pint for both of us then, because I was definitely bullied in school too. I was so blessed to have my teenaged Bestie, but we didn’t go to the same school. We lived nearly an hour apart! I would have loved to have her companionship at school while I was having such a rough time. Hope you have lots of Besties now!

  3. magnolia December 3, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    i had a crew of three teenage besties. there were four of us in the only-children’s club: two guys, two girls. we spent pretty much all of our time together, adding in boyfriends and girlfriends as they arose. we had other friends, but the four were almost always together.

    i still speak to all of them, actually. we added a fifth right after graduation who’s just as much a part of the crew as the original four. (two of the girls aren’t only children – our fifth had siblings already, and the other girl’s parents had a baby when we were in 12th grade.) but three of us live in the metro DC area, within a quarter-mile of each other. the other two live in our hometown.

    oh yeah, and two of us are now dating.

    • thehindsightletters December 3, 2010 at 9:37 pm #

      That’s awesome! I think that’s so unique for a group of people to all be close, and to remain close as time goes on… and of course, it’s the best of both worlds when that kind of friendship becomes something more 😉

  4. Anna Walker December 3, 2010 at 12:33 pm #

    I had a lot of “best friends” growing up, since we moved around a lot. The closest friendship out of all of them was with Cali my senior year of high school. I don’t remember how or why we started spending so much time together, but I know I had at least two classes with her freshman year, and we were thrown together more and more as we both got involved in theater.
    She drew everyone to her. She was kind, and witty, and beautiful, and wasn’t afraid to be whatever she wanted, even if it were different or unusual. It’s no wonder I wanted to be her friend.
    I think what kept our frienship so close was that she was a good listener who wasn’t judgemental at all, and had wisdom beyond her years about nearly every situation we encountered.
    I lost contact with her when we went our separate ways to college, but once Faceybook came along we were back in touch, and every once in a while we have a good, long chat.
    She remains the most beautiful person I’ve ever met, in every way.

    • thehindsightletters December 3, 2010 at 9:39 pm #

      That’s awesome that you’re still in touch! Thank goodness for Facebook, right? That’s how I’ve been able to stay in touch with my teenaged Bestie too… Thanks for sharing your story!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Hindsight Notes: Teenaged Nemesis « The Hindsight Letters - January 21, 2011

    […] talked about your Teenaged Bestie. Now let’s talk about your Worstie. You probably remember them all too well. That person […]

  2. The Hindsight Notes: Teenaged Archetype « The Hindsight Letters - March 11, 2011

    […] you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this […]

Leave a Reply

