Hindsight Fashion: Sun-In

17 Nov

Throughout the decades, teenagers have attempted to prove their coolness by wearing questionable accessories, hairstyles and items of clothing. Hindsight Fashion is a section about those trends that, in Hindsight, we probably wish we hadn’t worn.

This week’s Hindsight Fashion is Sun-In.

Sun-In was (and I guess, still is) a spray-in hair product that “gently highlighted” the hair, like the rays of the sun. It promised that beachy, subtle, golden blonde that surfers and beach bums spend months in the sun and salt water to achieve- without all that bothersome rest and relaxation.

The problem with Sun-In was this: The final product was neither subtle, nor blonde.  It was more like loud and orange.

I am an admitted ex-Sun-In addict. At around 14, I was desperate to dye my hair blonde but my mother didn’t agree with me using bleach to do it. Sun-In was our agreed-upon middle ground.

My natural hair colour is a mousy brown (that’s right- gasp!) so to get my hair to the lovely shade of orange pictured right I had to go through many bottles of Sun-In, throughout many Sun-In sessions. What makes me laugh now is my persistence: I genuinely believed that eventually, my hair would become the beautiful, ashy, Brigitte Bardot blonde of my dreams, no matter how orange it proceeded to get in reality.

Though the package suggested using the heat of the sun to lighten the hair, I chose the more artificial, less time-consuming route of the blow dryer. The hotter the air, the faster the hair would lighten. So there I would stand, in the bathroom of my parents’ house, head upside down, blow drying away until I felt sufficiently overcooked.

Either due to my incessant begging or the skyrocketing electricity bill, eventually my mother agreed to allow me to bleach my hair. My Sun-In days not-so-reluctantly came to a close.

But, every now and then, I still think back to the Sun-In era and smile. The days when, armed with a spray bottle and a dream, I was determined to cook my hair to a delicious shade of golden orange.

___________________

If you liked this post, you’ll love this one and this one!

15 Responses to “Hindsight Fashion: Sun-In”

  1. Nini November 17, 2010 at 2:24 pm #

    The electricity bill might have been higher because we both were stood, heads upside down, sharing in the glory of Super Sun-In…must be lemon scented, it works better…

    • thehindsightletters November 18, 2010 at 10:17 pm #

      Hahaha totally. We were the Sun-In twins. I wonder how many bottles we went through with the two of us combined? Scary…

  2. candace November 17, 2010 at 5:17 pm #

    My mom is still convinced chamomile tea and lemon juice works just as fine.

    • thehindsightletters November 18, 2010 at 10:18 pm #

      I have yet to try this miracle concoction. The good news is, if it doesn’t work, you could always drink the rest. Yum 🙂

  3. 'BOTB November 17, 2010 at 7:28 pm #

    I had many a friend with a Sun-In ‘do.

  4. Beth-Anne November 18, 2010 at 8:01 pm #

    This reminds me when I wanted a perm so badly but my mom (rightly) wouldn’t let me because she knew how it would turn out. Instead, I became addicted to Wash ‘N Curl Shampoo. I am so ashamed . . .

    • thehindsightletters November 18, 2010 at 10:21 pm #

      I’ve never heard of Wash ‘N Curl shampoo! That sounds awesome! What a concept… I think we need to go into business and put some lightener into the Wash ‘N Curl. Join forces. Now that would be something.

  5. Alison November 22, 2010 at 4:52 pm #

    Ugh. I’m an ex-Sun-In Addict, too.
    My problem, though, was having strawberry blonde hair. The box warns not to use on red hair. I thought, ‘Nah. It’s fine. I’m strawberry blonde!’ It. was. NOT. fine. What fixes neon orange hair? More Sun-In! After enough of it, I did reach the platinum blonde of Sun-In legend.

    Shortly after I fully recovered from that little fiasco, I had my fiasco with the semi-permanent pink dye. Apparently, I never learn.

    • thehindsightletters November 22, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

      Wow! I am so excited to hear that the platinum blonde Sun-In legend does actually exist! It’s like proof of the tooth fairy. Why were we so eager to play russian roulette with our hair??

      • Alison November 23, 2010 at 6:42 am #

        I’m an optimist. This is will be the time my hair reacts as it should! Oh, not this time? Then next time! For sure it’ll be next time!

        Our hair spirit should be admired. It really should.

  6. Kallie November 23, 2010 at 11:05 pm #

    It’s weird, because Sun-In actually made my hair turn a pretty nice blonde. I guess they must’ve changed their formula or something, that’s a pretty hilarious hair colour though!

    • thehindsightletters November 24, 2010 at 7:51 am #

      Ha! Well, I’m glad to hear it worked out for somebody 🙂 Thanks for reading, Kallie!

  7. rika9 February 18, 2013 at 2:28 pm #

    My younger self would have thought you looked awesome in that photo.. and if im honest with myself.. I still kinda do. 🙂 I was born for the late/post 90’s wide leg era.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hindsight Fashion: Tear-Away Pants « The Hindsight Letters - February 23, 2011

    […] you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this […]

Leave a Reply

