The Hindsight Notes: Worst Part-Time Job

6 Nov

The Hindsight Notes is a recurring section created for all you readers desperate to participate in THL, but lacking time to write a full letter. Each Note is composed of a question. All you need to do is answer it, in the form of a comment (below).

This week’s topic is: What was your worst teenaged part-time job? What made it suck so much? Your colleagues? Your boss? That dirty, stinky strip mall?

As always, I’ll start us out:

_____________________________

If you liked this post, you’ll love this one and this one!

9 Responses to “The Hindsight Notes: Worst Part-Time Job”

  1. thehindsightletters November 6, 2010 at 3:04 pm #

    I’m going to have to say that my worst part-time job was also my first.

    I was 15 years old and my Mother knew the owner of a nearby Mailboxes Etc. This job really sucked. It was located in a dingy strip mall next to a beer store. The neighbourhood was an aging one, and the clientele consisted mostly of very angry elderly people wanting to send very strange items to complex places in limited time.

    For instance, a gentleman came in wanting to send a pair of skis to the Middle East (?) as quickly as possible. For each oddly shaped item, a box HAD TO BE MADE by hand. Then it had to be stuffed with Styrofoam peanuts (both of which had an associated cost). Then I would need to figure out the fastest and cheapest method of sending said parcel, the cost of which would have to be tallied by hand on a calculator.

    Not being the strongest math student, this process would always induce a mild panic attack, when, having either taken too long or mixed up the math (or both), the crotchety senior would begin to yell and shake their finger and storm out, taking their oddly shaped goods with them.

    I do believe that poor Mailboxes Etc. did markedly less business during my part-time shifts.

  2. deb November 6, 2010 at 3:06 pm #

    i dont know if i had a worst- of course, i changed jobs as often as i changed hair colors so, to be fair, i never gave any of them too much time to be ‘worst’

    i really hated a hallmark i worked in- the boss was a B&**&^.

    i loved the 3 frozen yogurt places i worked in (managed one in college, in fact)

    • thehindsightletters November 6, 2010 at 9:55 pm #

      I was totally the same with the “job hopping”! This whole “Mommy” gig is already my longest career yet- and my daughter is only 18 months 😉

  3. magnolia November 6, 2010 at 4:26 pm #

    my worst “teenage” part-time job was compounded by the fact that i held it at age 22. when you come to a city, you inevitably run into excessively-cheerful young do-gooders saying things like, “hey, got a second for [cause]?” yeah, that, for eight miserable weeks, was me. my god, it’s a terrible gig. i mean, you might get stuck with a cause you hate (like i did). you might have to work through one of the longest rainy streaks in local recollection (like i did). you might have to deal with a man telling you in the public street that you don’t care about the people who died in 9/11 (like i did). that’s not even counting the guy who yelled pro-hitler slogans at the jewish girl who worked with us.

    ugh. TERRIBLE.

    • thehindsightletters November 6, 2010 at 9:52 pm #

      I always feel so sorry for those people when I see them! …as I walk by and politely decline their request for a moment of my time 🙂 Sounds similar to my stint as a telemarketer- but with added weather factor. Boo!

  4. Eschelle November 6, 2010 at 5:18 pm #

    that is the stupidest request i have ever heard of !

  5. briannagoldberg November 7, 2010 at 5:46 am #

    Without a doubt: The summer I worked as a maintenance worker on a golf course.
    I had to get up at 4:30am, drive incredibly far north from where I lived, and spend my mornings cleaning out toilets, washing the dishes of the senior maintenance workers from the previous day (or, sometimes, week… blehh…), and then follow that up with back-breaking raking of sandtraps for several hours while being ogled by the golfers.
    Sunburn. Sexual harrassment. Having to scrape something I don’t even want to describe to you out of one of the port-o-potties.
    I had to leave my high school prom early because I needed to be at this job the next morning.
    And possibly the worst thing: Driving to the course one morning, I ran over a robin in the middle of the road!

    • thehindsightletters November 7, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

      Okay- that one officially takes the cake for Worst Job Ever. Blows Mailboxes Etc. out of the water. Kudos to you for sticking with it, my friend! You have such great work ethic 🙂 I think I would have taken one look at the Port-O-Potty and ran screaming in the opposite direction. You are one strong lady!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Hindsight Notes: Worst Exam « The Hindsight Letters - February 25, 2011

    […] you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this […]

Leave a Reply

