Hindsight Fashion: Mom Jeans

31 Oct

Throughout the decades, teenagers have attempted to prove their coolness by wearing questionable accessories, hairstyles and items of clothing. Hindsight Fashion is a section about those trends that, in Hindsight, we probably wish we hadn’t worn.

This week’s Hindsight Fashion is Mom Jeans.

Mom Jeans (any jeans that are high-waisted, tapered at the ankle and loose through the leg) were the norm in denim from the early through to late 1990’s. Though the wash varied throughout the decade (light, dark, acid washed, etc.), the style maintained its shape until flared jeans took over as the denim du jour.

Mom Jeans were an in-betweenie style. They weren’t really “tapered” like the skinny jeans of today. And they weren’t really “loose” like the boyfriend jeans of today. They were loose through the leg and tapered at the ankle, making them into the proverbial red-headed stepchild of denim hybrids.

I entered Junior High School just as flared jeans were beginning to make a comeback. Being the completely uncool tween that I was, I did not own a pair of flares and instead wore my Mom Jeans throughout the first half of my grade 7 year.

In an attempt to make them seem cooler, I asked my Mother to embroider a flower onto one of the back pockets of my Mom Jeans. I was very pleased with this addition until Zach H. accused me of using the embroidered flower as a ploy to draw attention to my derriere. At the time I had no idea why anyone would want anyone else to look at their derriere, and was both embarrassed and completely puzzled.

Now, before all you fashionistas out there start typing your little fingers away saying “Mom Jeans are back in! Check out American Apparel, you Clueless Suburban Housewife Blogger”, let me just say that I am peripherally aware of their  burgeoning comeback. Let me also say that this is a style that is so massively unflattering that, unless taller than 5’9 and less than 110 lbs, no one should ever wear this style ever again.

Unless of course you really need to draw attention to your derriere. In which case I have it on good authority that a little embroidered flower on the pocket really does the trick.

16 Responses to “Hindsight Fashion: Mom Jeans”

  1. magnolia November 4, 2010 at 8:45 am #

    gaaaah, mom jeans. no thank you. i will stick with my mid-rise boot-cut levi’s, thanks. jeez, some trends deserve to stay buried far, far, FAR in the past…

    • thehindsightletters November 4, 2010 at 10:36 pm #

      Agreed! Definitely one trend in which I wish I hadn’t partaken 🙂

      • marty June 25, 2014 at 5:30 am #

        Stick with whatever you want. High rise jeans are simply normal jeans, and being stuck in a rut is not that much fun. I love mom jeans, and I grew up wearing low rise boot cut. Levi 501′ and 505 are perfection. Buuut if you like wearing jeans that make your ass look like a short rectangle, and legs look like stubs, your torso look four miles long…and usually with enough stitching on the back pockets to use as a chair be my guest. I threw away all my low rise last year.

  2. Gabrielle November 4, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

    Mom jeans are really not flattering. Now you may not want to wear your daughters’ trendy, low-rise jeans, but you can design custom jeans that’s flattering and fitting for your body.

    • marty June 25, 2014 at 5:34 am #

      People wore high rise jeans in 1940’s 1950’s 1960’s 1970’s(except a short blink with hip huggers)1980’s 1990’s..then in the mid 90’s someone decided to wear jeans down their backside and now all normal jeans are “mom” jeans? Sorry, we are not going to do the silly low rise trend for all eternity. Can’t and won’t happen. Mom jeans have nothing to do with of the moment, American apparel or the 80’s. They are simply normal jeans as they have been worn from the very start. And now they are back. Its the low rise idea that is a silly trend.

  3. BA November 5, 2010 at 8:20 am #

    What was even more hideous than Mom Jeans is mom jeans paired with a body suit! Remember that? Top it off with a scrunchy and a mini backpack and you were all set!

    • thehindsightletters November 5, 2010 at 9:28 pm #

      Haha! That’s so awesome! What an outfit 🙂 Swanky holiday parties, here we come!

    • Corrie November 12, 2010 at 6:48 pm #

      I was telling my 14 year old daughter about how hot I looked in my body suit just last week!!! (she was NOT convinced!)

      • thehindsightletters November 12, 2010 at 9:43 pm #

        Hilarious! Yep, the Body Suit-Mom Jeans combo is definitely a winner 🙂

    • marty June 25, 2014 at 5:35 am #

      Oh yeah…check out “the Americans” to see how “hideous” Kerry Russel looks in a body suit and high rise Lee jeans. Sooo terribly un attractive….LOL. You must be kidding me.

  4. Eschelle November 6, 2010 at 4:52 pm #

    HAHA mom jeans you might love this too!!

    http://www.guzer.com/videos/mom_jeans.php <– SNL commercial for mom jeans lol tina fey and amy poehler

    • thehindsightletters November 6, 2010 at 10:05 pm #

      I’m so bummed- the link didn’t work for me and when I googled the skit I couldn’t find ANY links that worked. It sounds super funny! I’ll keep looking- thanks for sharing it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hindsight Fashion: The Middle-Part Mushroom « The Hindsight Letters - February 2, 2011

    […] you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this […]

  2. Hindsight Fashion: The Plaid Shirt Belt « The Hindsight Letters - February 16, 2011

    […] Don’t let the name mislead you; The Plaid Shirt Belt was not a belt at all, but instead a Plaid Shirt tied around one’s waist like a belt. The style led you to believe that the wearer was actually at one point wearing the shirt, removed it and tied it around their waist so as not to lose it. But, more than likely, the wearer just decided to tie the plaid shirt onto their waist as an additional accessory to add to their outfit. The look was often paired with some of our previous Hindsight Fashions, such as The Baby Tee, The Leather Necklace, and Mom Jeans. […]

  3. Hindsight Idols: Corey Mason « The Hindsight Letters - March 16, 2011

    […] a pale blue crew neck sweater. It was a shorter one, and I remember that when I wore it with my Mom Jeans it exposed a little bit of midriff. I was 13 and this blue sweater made me feel like Liv Tyler. […]

  4. Hindsight Fashion: White Jeans « The Hindsight Letters - June 1, 2011

    […] you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this […]

Leave a Reply

