Hindsight Fashion: The Scrunchie

15 Oct

Throughout the decades, teenagers have attempted to prove their coolness by wearing questionable accessories, hairstyles and items of clothing. Hindsight Fashion is a new section about those trends that, in Hindsight, we probably wish we hadn’t worn.

This week’s Hindsight Fashion is The Scrunchie.

The Scrunchie (a hair elastic covered in poufy, preferably patterned fabric) was a hairstyling staple throughout the 1980’s and 90’s. I can personally say that I had a very extensive collection of Scrunchies, and remember being particularly excited to own a set from Cotton Ginny that perfectly matched a pair of scrunch socks.

The Scrunchie’s popularity was directly related to its versatility. Scrunchies could be made out of any type of pattern or fabric. This meant that one could have a Scrunchie to match every outfit, whether dressy or casual.

A particularly startling trend in Scrunchies was the “Faux Hair” Scrunchie. This Scrunchie was made not of fabric, but of hair. The idea being that if you had a sad, thin little ponytail, you could wrap the Faux Hair Scrunchie around it and pretend that in some other universe Martians who do not understand the way that hair normally looks might interpret the Scrunchie as actually belonging to your own natural hair. One of my craziest aunts was a fan of this trend. Need I say more?

The Scrunchie began to lose popularity at the beginning of the millennium. Its fate was sealed when, on an episode of Sex and The City , Carrie’s writer boyfriend included in his book a Scrunchie-wearing heroine. Carrie famously knocked the Scrunchie, saying that no fashionable woman would ever wear one, aside from while washing her face.

Only time will tell whether the Scrunchie will regain popularity as a chic hairstyling accessory. In the meantime, they will continue to be found on bathroom countertops everywhere, right next to the facial cleanser.

14 Responses to “Hindsight Fashion: The Scrunchie”

  1. yoursonginmyear October 15, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

    Hehe, I think you have ESP! I was just thinking, yesterday, I wonder if I slept in a scrunchie, would it leave a crease in my hair?? Considering I have not had one since childhood, I cannot remember. I also pondered if I could sink so low to even sleep in one. 🙂
    The hair ones! There was a girl my age, in highschool, who wore one and I thought it was her hair for a long time. She’d bun her hair, then put a curly type one around it, and it looked real!!

    • thehindsightletters October 15, 2010 at 9:34 pm #

      Good point about the hair crease… I’m not sure. You’ll have to experiment and let me know because now I’m curious. Perhaps you have developed a new way to revive the Scrunchie! 🙂

  2. Anna October 15, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

    I used to buy tons of fabric from the fabric store and make lots of scrunchies myself and give them to all my friends…

    • thehindsightletters October 15, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

      That’s super awesome. I’m thinking that you might want to revive that hobby- you’d be just in time for the holiday season! Nothing says yuletide cheer like a homemade Scrunchie 🙂

  3. Nini October 15, 2010 at 7:45 pm #

    the only thing worse than a scrunchie is a faux hair scrunchie. atrocious.

    • thehindsightletters October 15, 2010 at 9:38 pm #

      Truly the ultimate Scrunchie sin. “Excuse me, I think a terrier of some sort might have crawled up on your head and died. Oh, nope. It’s just your Scrunchie.”

  4. deb October 16, 2010 at 5:38 am #

    Well I beg to differ. Scrunchies are every bit as popular as they were 20 years ago. Why, just the other day as I was power walking through the mall, listening to Debbie Gibson and Tiffany on my walkman, wearing my jam shorts and acid green socks, I had people smiling and pointing to me the whole time.

    I think the fact that I teased my bangs up and used rave hairspray also was impressive.

    • thehindsightletters October 17, 2010 at 3:20 pm #

      That’s awesome 😉 I’m sure they were just in awe of your chic-ness. By the sounds of it, you might just be single-handedly bringing the Scrunchie back!

  5. Beth-Anne October 19, 2010 at 7:40 am #

    Ah! The memories! I can remember coordinating my scrunchie with my outfit – purple shirt, a purple scrunchie, naturally!

    • thehindsightletters October 19, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

      The matching was key in the Scrunchie style. Similar to this was matching your eyeshadow to your shirt. I’ve definitely been guilty of that one 🙂

  6. bookjunkie December 1, 2010 at 8:49 am #

    hahah I still love my scrunchie!! 🙂

  7. ingrid January 16, 2011 at 3:33 am #

    I want to find out where I can buy one of those faux hair scrunchies. I have a thin little ponytail and think one of those would add depth to my hair

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hindsight Fashion: White Jeans « The Hindsight Letters - June 1, 2011

    […] If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one! […]

Leave a Reply

