The Hindsight Notes: What Was Your Least Favorite Class?

24 Sep

"Bueller?... Bueller?... Bueller?"

The Hindsight Notes is a recurring section created for all you readers desperate to participate in THL, but lacking time to write a full letter. Each Note is composed of a question. All you need to do is answer it, in the form of a comment (below).

This week’s topic is: What was your least favorite class? What subject made you want to fake your own death to avoid attending? Why? Was it the teacher? The classmates? The subject matter? The mildewy portable?

As always, I’ll start us out:

If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one!

8 Responses to “The Hindsight Notes: What Was Your Least Favorite Class?”

  1. thehindsightletters September 24, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

    By far, my least favorite class across the board was math. I HATED MATH. To this day, I HATE MATH. Numbers are a language that I do not speak. I am so bad with numbers that whenever I actually manage to make exact change at a store, I have to fight the urge to jump up and down cheering.

    Needless to say, sitting through a math class was simultaneously soul crushing and mind-numbingly boring. People always said “Math is so easy! There’s only one right answer. It’s all a formula. Blah blah blah”.

    Sure, there may only be one right answer, but it doesn’t matter if I get that one answer right because Ms. Pathy wants me to “show my work” for full marks and the way she taught us to do algorithms makes no friggin’ sense so I need to do it my way to get the right answer but if I do it my way she won’t consider it “showing my work” so I won’t get full marks. Ugh! Thank you God that I never have to attend another high school math class…

  2. yoursonginmyear September 24, 2010 at 3:32 pm #

    Biology was my worst. It was just boring. My teacher, who was very nice. Was boring! It was one of the first classes in the morning and I always wanted to lay my head on the desk and sleep. I didn’t get that bad of a grade either, I think a B maybe.. Chemistry was a bad grade.. D. 🙂 It wasn’t as boring, but I lacked the understanding for it.

    • thehindsightletters September 24, 2010 at 8:55 pm #

      I remember those early morning classes, feeling so tired… Thinking it was so early to be awake! Now I wish I got to sleep until then! Babies wake you up far earlier than even the earliest biology class 🙂

  3. Mel September 25, 2010 at 8:58 am #

    Math 30. Twice. Tutor both times. 51%. Enough said.

    • thehindsightletters September 26, 2010 at 9:08 am #

      Ugh! Math! That’s exactly what I’m talking about- the worst! How are we ever going to help our kids with their math homework? I have nightmares about that question…

  4. Amber October 4, 2010 at 5:23 pm #

    So, while math in general was pretty painful, I especially hated Geometry. I had a teacher who I thought of as an older Mr. Bean; he was very sweet and had a good sense of humor. However, I never got the hang of it, and I ended up in the class with three good kids and 25 hellions. I hated the class because I felt bad for “Mr. Bean,” hated my classmates, and ended up rejoicing when I got a D. Trig may have been second-worse– still didn’t understand it, the teacher was not nice, but my classmates were fun. We quizzed each other on old Saved by the Bell episodes.

    • thehindsightletters October 4, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

      Any class involving discussion of Saved By The Bell is good in my books 🙂 Poor Mr. Bean! Harmless but clumsy, trying to tame a classroom of hooligans. Hilarious!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Hindsight Notes: Favourite School Subject « The Hindsight Letters - February 11, 2011

    […] talked about your Least Favourite Class. Now we want to know, which was your most favourite? Why? Was it simply because you were good at […]

Leave a Reply

