*New* Hindsight Fashion- The Choker Necklace

22 Sep

Throughout the decades, teenagers have attempted to prove their coolness by wearing questionable accessories, hairstyles and items of clothing. Hindsight Fashion is a new section about those trends that, in Hindsight, we probably wish we hadn’t worn.

This week’s Hindsight Fashion is the Choker.

The Choker (any necklace worn tightly around the neck) was an unfortunate hiccup in the otherwise unblemished history of the necklace. Strangely, this style has been in existence basically since the beginning of time, and continues to drift on and off trend.

Most often made of leather, fabric, or beads, the Choker was a very versatile accessory that regained popularity in the 1990’s.

For women in the 90’s, Choker necklaces were most often paired with baggy plaid shirts (during the grunge era), or asymmetrical hem tube tops (during the late 90’s “Spice Girls” era). A particularly puzzling trend in Choker necklaces was the “Tattoo” Choker necklace (right).

For men in the 90’s, the Choker mostly took the form of wooden beads or strings of leather in a nod to the California “Surfer” look (right). These necklaces were often paired with frosty highlights and t-shirts with contrasting armbands.

The downfall of the Choker is its uncanny ability to fatten and stumpify even the most delicate of necks. It shares this gene with shoe ankle straps placed too high above the foot.

Sadly, the Choker was a staple in my teenaged wardrobe. I had a Choker in every fabric, shape, and size. I had the “dog collar” with spikes, the fabric with gems, and the stainless steel “bathtub chain”. Heck, I even wore a Choker to prom (pictured in a previous post).

For all you Choker Lovers out there, fear not. If history has taught us anything, it is that fashion repeats itself. The Choker may not be cool now, but I’m sure in the not-so-distant future it will again reinvent itself and sneak back into our hearts once more.

If you liked this post, you’ll surely like this one and this one!

11 Responses to “*New* Hindsight Fashion- The Choker Necklace”

  1. yoursonginmyear September 22, 2010 at 5:59 pm #

    I’m going to try to scrounge up a pic of my old choker. I really only remember having one, but I wore it all the time.. Actually, from about 2004-2006. Not even 90s. πŸ™‚ The necklace I wore when I was even younger than that, on occasion… Was the candy necklace! Man, I loved those.

    • thehindsightletters September 22, 2010 at 9:26 pm #

      The candy necklace WAS actually a choker as I remember it- so you get points for both! Ha ha πŸ™‚ Mmmm, candy necklace…

  2. yoursonginmyear September 23, 2010 at 9:55 pm #

    Hehe, if I remember right, the candy wasn’t that good on the necklace. After I found that website, I looked at a bunch of retro candy. Chic-o-stick is one of my favs from childhood.. πŸ˜‰

    • thehindsightletters September 24, 2010 at 1:43 pm #

      Yeah, I think you’re right… and the elastic part of the necklace always got soggy from biting off the candies!

  3. hey March 4, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

    Where can u buy the “tattoo” choker necklace ? ! ?

  4. hey March 4, 2012 at 10:45 pm #

    Where can I buy the “tattoo” choker necklace ? ! ?

  5. Clem February 23, 2013 at 4:08 am #

    Gee, I wish I could have afforded ” a Choker in every fabric, shape, and size…” But sadly, my daddy was only a simple personal injury attorney with a measly six-figure salary to support me, my mum, and the goldfish, so I was allowed only seven or 12 chokers, not the standard 16 to 23 common of the upper class of the 90s era. Glad you had it all.

  6. Suzanna May 13, 2013 at 10:48 am #

    When you hear the pitch of the motor change, you are at the right height adjustment. Your carpets will be much cleaner when your vacuum cleaner is operating much more efficiently. The chances of this machine breaking down can be greatly mitigated if it is properly cared for and maintained.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hindsight Fashion: Skunk Streaks « The Hindsight Letters - January 26, 2011

    […] you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this […]

Leave a Reply

