The Hindsight Notes: Prom!

29 Jul

The Hindsight notes is a recurring section created for all you readers desperate to participate in THL, but lacking time to write a full letter. Each Note is composed of a question. All you need to do is answer it, in the form of a comment (below).

This week’s topic is Prom. Tell us about your prom experience! What did you wear? Who was your date? Did you get totally trashed and dance like a moron? Tell us!

I will start us out. But first, here is an embarrassing photo of me at prom:


15 Responses to “The Hindsight Notes: Prom!”

  1. thehindsightletters July 29, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

    Prom after-party was at a hotel. I lied and told my parents that the rooms were not co-ed (sorry Mom!), when in fact I was sharing one with my boyfriend. I was so excited! It seemed so grown up!

    It all started to go downhill when, in order to get my short black hair into an “updo” the stylist had to use kajillions of bobby pins, a pint of shellac, and some kind of medieval torture device. My fancy ‘do looked great, but there was nothing pretty about the throbbing migraine it left in its wake. By the time we reached the hotel, all I wanted to do was sleep. And puke. Not quite the romantic evening I had in mind.

    I guess that’s what I get for fibbing to the parentals…

  2. Alison July 29, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

    This was right around the time I met Boyfriend but a few weeks before we started dating. We were supposed to go to prom together…but then he took another girl whose boyfriend had just broken up with her. (The break-up was completely justified…) The girl was obsessed with high-end fashion and told him that being with me would be a “mistake” because, among other things, I have no taste in clothing. (My lack of “taste” is because I shop at H&M, not Marc Jacobs.)

    So I went stag. With a group of 20 couples. Awesome, right? Third wheel isn’t bad enough. Try being forty-first wheel. (Okay, there were two other girls in the group that were stag. But one had a boyfriend that wasn’t going, so that doesn’t count.)

    And oh, yeah–There was a guy that had graduated the year before that was arrested a few hours before prom. He’d told his friends that he was going to snipe couples walking in. The cops found his spot he’d staked out to have a view of the front door of the civic hall. They also found his newly purchased sniper rifle in his truck. We didn’t find out about this until the next Monday at school. We’d all just assumed that the cops everywhere and the ambulances sitting around were regular prom accessories. Huh.

    • Alison July 29, 2010 at 6:52 pm #

      Ah, and I forgot to mention something about this other girl–She had a column in the (very small) local newspaper (until she pissed off the Catholic Church with a column about how they should stop bitching about pre-marital sex).

      Her first column was all about how terrible her ex-boyfriend was for dumping her and how unjustified this was because she had the perfect dress. (She had been cheating on him. This is not mentioned. So a “close friend who had thankfully gotten through his nerdy stage” took her. Boyfriend is still angry about this. Because he was never nerdy and he never counted her as a friend, let alone close.

      • thehindsightletters July 29, 2010 at 9:26 pm #

        Oh my! Your prom was WAY more interesting than mine! …Even in spite of the stag-situation 🙂 Incidentally, your choice to go stag would have saved you from said crazy person intending to “snipe couples walking in”. So take that, crazy judgmental pseudo columnist lady! 🙂 Pshaw!

  3. Alison July 29, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

    We have a potential sniper at prom, and this is all that I can find online about it!

    http://www.coloradoconnection.com/news/story_print.aspx?id=127956&type=story

    I trusted the guy not to snipe me, though. I sat next to him in a science class in 9th grade. Dane Cook has a thing about not getting killed in an office shoot-out because he gave the creepy guy a Snickers bar. Totally the same situation. Except substitute “Snickers bar” with “general pleasantries and friendliness and group project partnerships.” I’d remind him of our great Earth & space science memories and warm his heart until he put the rile down.

    • thehindsightletters July 30, 2010 at 9:03 pm #

      Good call on the “befriend the potential sniper” angle. Dane Cook and you are totally right 🙂 I actually tried to do the same thing in high school. But this dude smoked these super weird smelly clove cigarettes and whenever we spoke I would leave smelling like burnt potpourri. Eventually I had to give up, even at the risk of being in the line of fire.

  4. magnolia July 29, 2010 at 10:59 pm #

    i took a lot of the trauma out of prom by going with my oldest guy friend. i borrowed the dress from his mom. we had a nice dinner, danced, had a great time.

    randomly, though, i ended up with two prom dates. it wasn’t one of those double-bookings that form the plot of at least 10 sweet valley high books, though. a really good friend of mine was rather aggressively set up with one of the exchange students we had at our school that year, and about halfway through dinner, she decided that she didn’t want to be his date anymore. so as soon as they got to the dance, she disappeared. when i heard that, i said, “screw her. let’s dance!” i switched dances off with my friends and that was that.

    ‘course, there was the subplot of the other half of our double date to that prom. the girl had been dating my best friend until, oh, about a week before prom. at that point, she dumped him in biblically dramatic fashion and went to prom with a guy we all barely knew. this random dude is in my prom picture, and i had to think for a good five minutes the other day, “wait. who the hell is that?”

    oh, high school…

    • thehindsightletters July 30, 2010 at 9:07 pm #

      I love the random people in old high school photos! Forever immortalized despite the fact that we can’t remember for the life of us who the heck they are 🙂

  5. candace August 10, 2010 at 5:48 pm #

    That must have been prom number one because I have pics of you at prom number 2 and that wasn’t the dress you were wearing… or the hair colour.

    PS Prom sucked for me and my date still owes me 120$.

    • thehindsightletters August 10, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

      $120?! No way! I think you should compound some crazy interest on that debt 🙂 And yep, this was prom number one- I know, I know. I am an admitted prom junkie.

  6. classbookworm August 14, 2010 at 9:37 pm #

    I usually asked dates to dances, but I kinda tricked a friend into asking me to prom. Promptly after he did my crush hinted that he wanted to go with me. He ended up going with a friend and (why oh why?) we doubled. Then, when crush’s date got a boyfriend, it ended up being a triple date without my crush knowing that she was setting him up on a blind date without his consent. Oy, the drama. On the bright side, I looked AWESOME. I had a feather boa, for crying out loud. And my date was a doll too without any drama attached!

    For my junior prom I went with my friend that I didn’t know was gay. I then ditched him during the school-sponsored after-prom to make out with an ex-boyfriend. Not one of my prouder moments. My dress was awesome, my mom sewed it, but otherwise I wouldn’t brag about my appearance that night… 🙂

    • thehindsightletters August 15, 2010 at 10:27 pm #

      Such drama! I love it! My prom adventure is sounding increasingly boring by the minute with all these comments posted here!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. *New* Hindsight Fashion- The Choker Necklace « The Hindsight Letters - September 22, 2010

    […] Sadly, the Choker was a staple in my teenaged wardrobe. I had a Choker in every fabric, shape, and size. I had the “dog collar” with spikes, the fabric with gems, and the stainless steel “bathtub chain”. Heck, I even wore a Choker to prom (pictured in a previous post). […]

  2. The Hindsight Notes: Grounded! « The Hindsight Letters - January 28, 2011

    […] If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one! […]

  3. The Hindsight Notes: Teenaged Theme Song « The Hindsight Letters - February 4, 2011

    […] If you liked this post, you’ll surely love this one and this one! […]

Leave a Reply

